uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Swiss wins 12-rider sprint ahead of Jonathan Hivert and Marco Frapporti to repeat his 2011 victory in the big preparation race for the Tour de Suisse

Photo: Orica GreenEdge






06.06.2013 @ 18:30 Posted by Daniel Quistgaard

It was a home win in today Swiss race GP Kanton Aargau-Gippingen - the country's biggest one-day race and a perfect preparation for the Tour de Suisse - as Michal Albasini (Orica-GreenEdge) won ahead of Jonathan Hivert (Sojasun) in a sprint from a small group.


The tough Swiss race GP Kanton Aargau-Gippingen was held today and consisted of 15 laps of a 12,1km circuit with 180 vertical meters on each lap. The race is known as a hard one and a tough test prior to the Tour de Suisse, and it was made no easier when a strong 8-man escape group got clear early in the race.


An in-form Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) - winner of the queen stage in the Bayern Rundfahrt - was joined by Jan Bakelants (Radioshack), Martin Kohler (BMC), Davide Cimolai (Lampre), Matthias Brände (IAM), Julien El Fares (Sojasun), Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) and Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) and the group was allowed to built up a gap of a little less than 3 minutes.


However, it was evident that the peloton was unwilling to allow them too much leeway, and for a long time the gap was kept at around 2 minutes by Vacansoleil and Astana. With 4 laps to go, only Impey, Smukulis, Bakelants and Felline had survived and they fought hard to keep the peloton at nay.


They managed to extend their gap a little but when they started the 13th lap, they were only 1 minute ahead of the peloton from which riders started to attack.


Those attacks saw the formation of a new front group consisting of Impey, his teammate Stuart O'Grady, Bakelants, his teammate Bob Jungels, Tangel Kangert (Astana) and Alexandr Kolobnev (Katusha). With two laps to go, that group had grown somewhat and now contained 16 riders.


Kolobnev managed to escape and on the last lap he was the sole leader of the race while Simone Stortoni (Lampre) chased him. Further behind, the group had grown bigger and now contained pre-race favourites like Michael Albasini and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC).


Neither Stortoni nor Kolobnev could keep the group at bay, and when the Russian was caught inside the final kilometer, the race was to be decided in a 12-rider sprinter.


Michael Albasini emerged as the fastest to repeat his 2011 win while Jonathan Hivert and Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli) completed the podium.



1. Michael Albasini 4.24.59

2. Jonathan Hivert

3. Marco Frapporti

4. Jan Bakelants

5. Tanel Kangert

6. Greg Van Avermaet

7. Simone Stortoni

8. Jonathan Fumeaux

9. Laurens De Vreese

10. Bjorn Leukemans



List of CyclingQuotes previews 15.05.2017 @ 07:54End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:5520 teams for Challenge Mallorca 03.01.2017 @ 16:47Tony Martin unveils new rainbow jersey 03.01.2017 @ 16:39

Rebecca WIASAK
33 years | today
Daniel BABIC
33 years | today
Leif-Johnny STØDLE
37 years | today
31 years | today
Martine LICKER
44 years | today

© 2013