uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Three-time winner Alejandro Valverde spearheads the field for Fleche Wallonne

Photo: Sirotti


18.04.2016 @ 22:27 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The Alaphilippe, Matthews, Wellens, Barguil and Kelderman generation, all of whom were born in the 1990’s, have their chance for victory on the 80th edition of the Flèche Wallonne, this Wednesday 20 April. But Valverde and Rodriguez, among others, haven’t quite yet ridden off into the sunset.


A rider has to be able to do everything, on the Flèche Wallonne, which is best characterized as a physically draining race at nearly 200km in distance, with the difficulties scattered over the final two-thirds of the route and especially the electric finish where strategy must be added to the pure power needed for the Mur de Huy. While this multi-task exercise requires a certain level of maturity, the young guns who have made names for themselves on all fronts these past few years have also managed to shake up the group of known specialists of the Chemin des Chapelles. Julian Alaphilippe turned the most heads among them last year, finishing runner-up on both theFlèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.


Based on his results on the Flèche Brabançonne (8th) and the Amstel Gold Race (6th) he is not feeling the aftereffects of his bout with mononucleosis over the winter. But the Frenchman will not be the only “youngster” to try to come up big on Wednesday. Michael Matthews has continued to show the extent of his talents with his ride on Paris-Nice and finishing ahead of Alaphilippe on the Amstel (5th). The highly energetic Tim Wellens, 10th Sunday at Valkenberg, could be the best Belgian chance in the peloton. Petr Vakoc, winner on the Flèche Brabançonne, has the profile of an ideal substitute leader to the defending runner-up while Warren Barguil, who returns from injury, and could be more at ease on the Mur de Huy than on the Cauberg (15th)… so much for the kids born in the 1990’s…


The challenge for these young riders will be particularly elevated, with experts of the calibre of Alejandro Valverde, who won in Huy for the first time 10 years ago. The Spaniard has changed his approach to the week in the Ardennes, preferring to ride on the Vuelta a Castilla y León, where he took two stage wins and the general classification, than the Amstel Gold Race… to confidently move up the ranks of the Movistar team, where they can also rely on another former winner, Dani Moreno. Spanish riders have won the last four editions and the chance of that string reaching five increases with a possible resurgence of another specialist, Joaquim Rodríguez, winner at Huy on the Tour de France last July and on the 2012 Flèche Wallonne. 


25 teams, the leading riders



Orica-GreenEdge: Matthews (AUS), A.Yates (GBR), Albasini (SWI)



Etixx-Quick Step: D. Martin (IRL), Alaphilippe (FRA), Vakoc (CZE)

Lotto-Soudal: Gallopin (FRA), Vanendert, Wellens (BEL)

Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise: Van Hecke (BEL)

Wanty-Groupe Gobert: Gasparotto (ITA), Thurau (GER)



AG2R La Mondiale: Latour, Chérel (FRA), Bakelants (BEL)

FDJ: Vichot (FRA), Eiking (NOR)

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Jeannesson, Simon (FRA), Navarro (SPA)

Fortuneo-Vital Concept: B. Feillu, Ledanois (FRA)

Delko Marseille Provence KTM: Di Gregorio, El Fares (FRA), Diaz (ARG)



Team Giant-Alpecin: Barguil (FRA), Geschke (GER)

Stölting Service Group: Gerdemann (GER), Ciolek (GER)


Great Britain

Team Sky: Ser.Henao (COL), Nordhaug (NOR), Poels (NL)



Lampre-Merida: Costa (POR), Meintjes (RSA), Ulissi (ITA)



Astana Pro Team: Lutsenko (KAZ), L-L.Sanchez (SPA)


The Netherlands

Team Lotto NL-Jumbo: Kelderman, Gesink (NL)

Roompot Oranje Peloton: Hoogerland, Weening (NL)



Team Katusha: Rodriguez (SPA), Byström (NOR), Van den Broeck (BEL)

Tinkoff: Kreuziger (CZE), Kiserlovski (CRO), Valgren (DEN)


South Africa

Team Dimension Data: Anton (SPA), Pauwels (BEL)



Movistar Team: Valverde, Moreno (SPA)



IAM Cycling: Denifl (AUT), Pantano (COL)


United States

BMC Racing Team: Gilbert (BEL), S. Sanchez (SPA)

Cannondale: Slagter (NL), Uran (COL)

Trek-Segafredo: Hesjedal (CAN), Schleck (LUX)



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

19 years | today
Diakaridia SANGARÉ
29 years | today
36 years | today
Jennifer WHALEN
38 years | today
42 years | today