uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Local team Avanti take all three podium spots in the New Zealand Road Race, with 2013 TT champion Joe Cooper winning.

Photo: Sirotti


11.01.2015 @ 12:25 Posted by Joseph Doherty

While many were looking to the star World Tour professionals, it was the homegrown Avanti Racing team riders led by Wellington’s Joe Cooper, who took a clean sweep of the Calder Stewart elite national road championship men's race in Christchurch today.


Cooper led local Christchurch teammate Tom Davison home after a superb break late on the penultimate lap of the 183km race, that comprised 12 laps including 10 climbs up the famed Dyers Pass in Cashmere hills.


The pair took advantage of outstanding teamwork to hold off all challengers with Cooper taking the title from the former triathlete Davison, who was third last year, while their Avanti Racing teammate Jason Christie broke clear of the select chase group to claim third after being in the original break.


“Today we had six guys and everyone knew the plan and everyone was ready to sacrifice themselves. We put in a lot and got a lot out,” said Cooper.


“You can’t ask any more from the team than a one-two-three. That is outstanding.”


It was a breakthrough for the 29 year old who won the time trial in 2013.


“I’ve been racing at the nationals for 10 years and come second to Gordon McCauley before which was a one-two-three-four in Subway days."


“To get the jersey now I feel like everything I’ve been working towards and building towards and putting in 10 years of hard work (for), has definitely paid off and (is) justification for sticking at it and nutting it out.”


Local Christchurch rider Hamish Schreurs, who lives in Cashmere, claimed the under-23 honours, finishing seventh overall, from Auckland’s Dion Smith and Te Awamutu’s Hayden McCormick, last year’s under-23 champion.


A strong group comprising McCormick, Christie, double Olympic medallist Westley Gough, Canterbury’s Paul Odlin and 2013 national under-23 winner James Oram pushed out to a lead of three minutes 20 seconds after four laps but by lap eight the lead had shrunk to a minute.


They were caught three laps from the finish when Nelson’s George Bennett, who will ride for World Tour LottoNL-Jumbo this year, bravely attacked up the hill as one of the world’s leading climbers, joined by Avanti’s Paddy Bevin.


The bunch came back together, as Orica GreenEDGE professional Sam Bewley loomed large, but it was Cooper’s charge, backed by neo-pro Davison that proved the winning move.


After six years in Christchurch, where the event has gained new-found popularity with massive crowds on the Dyers Pass climb, the championships move to Napier for the next three years.


Results, Road Race:


Elite Men, 183km:

1. Joe Cooper (Avanti Racing Team, Wellington) 4:34:53 

2. Tom Davison (Avanti Racing Team, Canterbury) same time 

3. Jason Christie (Avanti Racing Team, Mid South Canterbury) 4:35:23 

4. Sam Bewley (Rotorua, Orica GreenEDGE) 4:36:38

5. George Bennett (Nelson, Lotto NL Jumbo) same time



1. Hamish Schreurs (Canterbury) 4:36:45

2. Dion Smith (Hincapie Racing Team, Auckland) 4:36:47 

3. Hayden McCormick (Lotto-Soudal, Te Awamutu) same time.




Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
36 years | today
38 years | today
37 years | today
Jhonrey BUCCAT
24 years | today