uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“I’ve had plenty of time on the second and third step over the last 12-months so I’ll be hoping to change that in January."

Photo: ©Tim De Waele/TDW Sport








04.01.2015 @ 09:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The best field ever assembled for an Australian time trial title will line-up in the elite men’s race on Thursday 8 January, in Buninyong, for the 2015 Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships.


Michael Rogers (ACT), a triple world champion in the time trial and 2014 Tour de France stage winner, returns to the nationals for the first time in three years, but such is the caliber of the field, he won’t be the favourite.


Luke Durbridge (WA), Jack Bobridge (SA), Damian Howson (SA) and Campbell Flakemore (TAS) have all been time trial world champions at the under-23 level and will all be on the start line.


Michael Hepburn (QLD), a multiple world champion on the track, comes in as the defending champion while his Orica-GreenEDGE teammate, Cameron Meyer (WA), won the title in 2010 and 2011.


And Richie Porte (TAS), who finished fourth in the time trial at the 2010 UCI Road World Championships, is hoping to get the year off to a good start after a disappointing 2014.


Yet it’s South Australia's Rohan Dennis, fifth in the time trial at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships, who has been labeled by many of his rivals as the man to beat.


“Even though Hepburn is the reigning champion I’d say from the form after the nationals (in 2014) Rohan would have to be the hot favourite,” commented Durbridge, 2013 road race and time trial Australian champion.


“And then you look at Michael Rogers with his palmares, it’s pretty impressive as a three time world champion. So I wouldn’t cross him off either.


“Then there’s Richie Porte and Cameron Meyer. It’s definitely going to be a hotly contested race.


“Hopefully I can be up in the mix.”


For defending champion Hepburn, the honour of wearing the green and gold jersey will provide plenty of motivation.


“It was a really special moment for me winning an Australian title,” Hepburn said.


“To take the national stripes over to Europe and race in all the big races in the national champs jersey is very special.


“I’d really like to [defend the title].


“I think it’s going to be a really tough field this year. I expect there to be close to 10 guys who have a shot of taking the title so it’s going to be a very hard.


“Campbell Flakemore is fresh off winning the under 23 world title and Rohan Dennis was the standout time triallist for Australia last season, so I think there is going to be some stiff competition.”


Dennis, who rides for BMC Racing and has declared himself at the service of Cadel Evans for the road race on Sunday 11 January, isn’t hiding his ambitions for the time trial.


“I’ve had plenty of time on the second and third step over the last 12-months so I’ll be hoping to change that in January,” he said.


A new course will be used for the time trial and although there are no major climbs, there’s barely a flat stretch of road. Starting and finishing in Buninyong the out-and-back circuit heads west before doing a u-turn and returning to Buninyong.


This course will ensure a world-class rider is crowned Australian time trial champion.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

33 years | today
Xuan WU
31 years | today
24 years | today
Gregor GUT
44 years | today
Svetlana RYABOVA
25 years | today