uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Despite spending a big part of the race in the break, Blythe had enough left to beat Cavendish in a sprint from a small group at the British Championships; Fenn took the bronze medal

Photo: Sirotti








26.06.2016 @ 19:42 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Adam Blythe (Tinkoff) delivered one of the biggest surprises at the national championships when he outsprinted Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) to take his first road race title. Having a long time in a four-rider break, the Tinkoff rider still had enough left to come around the fading Manxman in the reduced bunch sprint while Andrew Fenn crossed the line in third to give Sky a home medal.


The British Championships road race looked like it was playing out in the perfect way for Mark Cavendish. After he had worked hard to get into a small chase group and caught a strong four-rider group with Adam Blythe (Tinkoff), Alex Peters (Sky), Tao Geogeghan-Hart (Axeon) and Thomas Moses (JLT) with two laps of a 6.4km to go, Peters started to ride hard on the front to set his teammate Andrew Fenn up for a sprint win. With the group down to less than 15 riders and no teammates in the race, it was always going to be difficult for Cavendish to keep it together for a sprint but Sky did all the work to put the Manxman into the perfect position.


Confident in his chances, Cavendish hit out early after Scott Thwaites (Bora-Argon 18) had launched from afar and he looked poised to take the victory. However, Blythe had recovered surprisingly well from his long day in the break and he managed to come around the fading star sprinter just metres from the line to take a surprise win. Fenn paid back Peters for his hard work by taking third.


The 207km race in Stockton-on-Tees was held on a mostly flat course that consisted of 12 laps of a big 13.4km circuit and 6 laps of a shorter 6.7km circuit in the city. 


Time trial champion Alex Dowsett (Movistar) was the first to launch a sustained attack, drawing out a 22 second lead at one stage, before being swallowed up by the peloton.


There were repeated attacks in a frantic first couple of laps, but riders weren’t able to make them stick in the opening exchanges.

Dowsett was in and around a number of early attacks, but the first main group charge that was able to sustain as lead came with eight laps of the main circuit to go.


Josh Teasdale (Prorace Cycling Team), Alex Peters (Team Sky) and Kristian House (One Pro Cycling) were among a group of nine who broke away, building up a lead of 40 seconds at one stage.


Other chasing groups attempted to bridge the gap, with two of them proving successful, the second of which included Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Axeon Hagens Berman CT), Dowsett and Chris Latham (Team Wiggins), and caught the leaders with under three laps of the main circuit remaining.


No sooner had Geoghegan Hart joined the leading group, then he had set off on a break, joined by JLT Condor’s Tom Moses, Tinkhoff’s Adam Blythe and Alex Peters, opening up a ten second lead with two laps remaining, extending it to just under a minute and a half.

The leading four maintained a gap for the closing sections of the main circuit, but as riders headed into the city centre finishing circuit, they’d reduced it to just 25 seconds, with Cavendish driving hard.


But the leaders were able to hold off the challenge for the first half of the finishing circuit, before fading in the closing stages.


The catch was made with two laps to go – with rain starting to fall as riders entered their final lap.


The stage was set for a big sprint finish – and it didn’t disappoint. Cavendish, always in contention for these finishes went head-to-head with Adam Blythe – with the Tinkoff rider coming out on top to take the win on the line and claim his first ever national road race title.


Team Sky’s Andrew Fenn took third while the under-23 title went to Tao Geoghegan Hart.


It is still unclear when Blythe will make his debut in the jersey as he is very unlikely to get selected for the Tour de France.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Jesus CRUZ
40 years | today
Stanislav BERES
30 years | today
Kamilla Sofie VALLIN
29 years | today
22 years | today
54 years | today