uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

BMC Racing Team took their maiden win in the UCI World Team Time Trial Championships today by beating favourites Orica Greenedge and holders Omega Pharma-Quick Step.

Photo: Sirotti








21.09.2014 @ 20:01 Posted by Joseph Doherty

BMC Racing Team took their maiden win in the UCI World Team Time Trial Championships today by beating favourites Orica Greenedge and holders Omega Pharma-Quick Step.


BMC won the race by 35 seconds over the 57.1km course in Ponferrada, Spain to kick off the men’s events over the next week. It was a convincing win by the American team, considering last year’s title was won by less than one second.


Team Ecuador were first off the start ramp and set a final time of 1:11:38 but they were soon bested by MG Kvis, who knocked more than 2 minutes off the South American side’s time. Topsport Vlaanderen had set the fastest time at the first intermediate split and Europcar, the first WorldTour team off the ramp, had failed to beat them.


Topsport’s joy was short-lived however, as Cannondale, the first genuine contender for the title, took 30 seconds off their first check time and looked very strong.


Rusvelo had been nowhere at the first check but by ckecks two and three they were starting to eat into Topsport’s times and looked like they would run them close at the line. At the end, Rusvelo had gauged their effort beautifully, taking the lead by 48 seconds ahead of Topsport.


Meanwhile, at the first check, Garmin , Trek and Lampre had all lost time to Cnnondale, who at this point were fastest at the first and second checks. BMC, another potential winner had also started.


Cannondale beat Rusvelo, as expected, at the line by 1:16. None of the WorldTour teams that had started coud beat Cannondale’s first time check of 25:43:47. That was until BMC destroyed that time, putting 27 seconds into Cannondale. But the big news was that all three of the podium finishers last year, Sky, Orica and OPQS, had all started.


Giant-Shimano had started poorly but were growing into the race, managing to be go fastest at the second check, 44 seconds clear. Then BMC really announced themselves as real contenders when they beat Giant by 50 seconds.


Trek, who had gone poorly, used their specialists to recover slowly and by the line, they had beaten Cannondale by 27 seconds.


Times began to fall quickly, with Sky going fastest at the first before OPQS beat them by just 7 seconds. Orica had been poor at the start 24 seconds down on BMC and they had improved at the second. Meanwhile, Garmin and Giant failed to topple Trek but then BMC came in a huge 0:1:01 ahead of Trek. But by the second check OPQS, were under a second behind the Americans and looked good to secure a third straight title.


Sky were third at the third by 11 seconds to BMC and crucially only had 4 men left. Orica were just one second behind the Brits at the third check. But OPQS had failed to beat BMC, who remained top at the third.


Sky eventually crossed the line, trailing BMC by 37 seconds, guaranteeing BMC a medal. But When Orica and OPQS began to falter at the end, BMC realised what was happening and Rohan Dennis, Silvan Dillier, Danil Oss, Manuel Quinziato, Tejay Van Garderen and Peter Velits could stand on the top step of the podium as World Champions.




Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:55

Currently no news in this list

27.04: Youth Tour
26.04 - 28.04: Tour of Chongming Island
28.04: PWZ Zuidenveld Tour
28.04: GP Himmerland Rundt
22.04 - 29.04: Tour du Sénégal
24.04 - 29.04: Tour de Romandie
26.04 - 29.04: Gracia Orlova
27.04 - 29.04: Festival Elsy Jacobs
27.04 - 29.04: Vuelta Asturias Julio Alvarez ...
27.04 - 29.04: Sri Lanka T-Cup
Nathan Pernot
21 years | today
27 years | today
43 years | today
33 years | today
Sebastian CASTILLO
27 years | today

© 2013