uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Beating Lampaert by just 3 seconds, Campenaerts won the Belgian time trial championships; Hermans was 12 seconds behind in third

Photo: Sirotti








23.06.2016 @ 20:32 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Victor Campenaerts (LottoNL-Jumbo) confirmed his huge progress as a time triallist by winning the Belgian Championships in the individual discipline. In a thrilling finale, he beat Yves Lampaert (Etixx-QuickStep) by 3 seconds while Ben Hermans (BMC) was 12 seconds behind in third.


Since he joined the WorldTour at the start of the season, Victor Campenaerts has been part of the great TT improvement that LottoNL-Jumbo has enjoyed during the last 12 months. Today the Belgian talent underlined his status as one of the best Belgian time triallist by claiming a maiden national title in the discipline.


Having taken fifth in last year’s race, Campenaerts was the penultimate rider to roll out on the relatively short 38km course in Mol-Postel but he was off the pace in the first part of the race. At the first time check, he was only third behind last year’s runner-up Yves Lampaert and pre-race favourite Ben Hermans but he gauged his effort well. At the second check, he was still third, eight seconds behind Lampaert and three seconds behind Hermans, and it was clear that it would be a close battle between the three best riders.


Campenaerts was still riding hard when Hermans reached the finish to beat previous leader Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) by a massive 45 seconds and it looked like BMC would have a chance to win their second TT title in two days following Manuel Quinziatoøs victory in Italy. However, Campenaerts had managed to increase the speed in the final 14km and when he stopped the clock in 46.18, he had gone 12 seconds faster than Hermans.


Everybody was still waiting for Lampaert to arrive but unlike the LottoNL-Jumbo rider, the Etixx-QuickStep talented hadn’t managed to up the pace. In a thrilling finale, he reached the finish in 46.21, missing out on the gold medal by just three seconds. De Gendt finished fourth and a sick Sep Vanmarcke made it two LottoNL-Jumbo riders in the top 5.


Campenaerts takes over from Jurgen Van den Broeck who chose not to defend his title. He will be back in action on Sunday in the road race championships where Preben Van Hecke will try to defend his title.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

32 years | today
21 years | today
25 years | today
26 years | today
25 years | today