uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

 “This 4th edition of the Arctic Race of Norway promises to be balanced and exciting. All types of riders will have good opportunities, with at least two sprint finishes and stage 3 as Queen Stage."

Photo: A.S.O. / S. Boué


06.01.2016 @ 12:45 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The route of the 4th Arctic Race of Norway, which will be held from August 11th to 14th, was released this morning in Oslo.


After traveling through the paradise islands of Lofoten and Versterålen in 2013, then leading the peloton all the way to the North Cape in 2014 before continuing its exploration of the hidden treasures beyond the Arctic Circle in 2015, the Arctic Race of Norway will play with the Arctic Circle with 2 stages below and 2 stages above its line drawn at 66°33′46.0″ north of the Equator, including a start at its exact location. It will offer varied scenarios, where sprinters, but also punchers and even climbers will delight the Norwegian spectators enthusiastic as ever about the idea of welcoming some of the best cyclists in the world.


Discovering the Seven Sisters

The 2016 Arctic Race of Norway will start in Fauske on Thursday August 11 with this year’s most northern stage. After crossing the Straight of Saltstraumen, known for its tidal currents that are among the most powerful in the world, which create the famous "maelstroms" dear to Norse mythology, sprinters and punchers will battle for the victory in Rognan. The following day, after crossing the Arctic Circle during the transfer, the riders will have to cope with the risks of side winds before the finish at Sandnessjøen, at the foot of the “Sju søstre”; seven aligned peaks, which are among the most beautiful and most famous in Norway.


The Korgfellet as the decider

Stage 3 will without a doubt be the highlight-stage of 2016. The general classification will be up for grabs on this 160km stage, with the start given at Nesna, in the heart of the fjords, before two runs through the Mo I Rana, the main industrial zone of the northern region of the country. The stage victory will be decided on the Korgfjellet (8.9 km at 6.3%), with an arrival that is already part of the race’s history because no other stage of the Arctic Race of Norway has ever finished such an altitude.


A start from the Arctic Circle before the big outcome

The start of the final stage of this 4th edition will be given on the exact location of the Arctic Circle, before the peloton heads towards the north to Bodø, using then the same roads that will be used in the 2016 Norwegian Championships and on a route similar to the first stage of the maiden edition of the race. The arrival at Bodø will rekindle memories of 2013 when the town was the host of an exceptional sprint finish. The rider in the leader’s blue and orange jersey at the start of the stage will most certainly have to fend of the attacks of his rivals in the final circuit before perhaps joining past winners Thor Hushovd (2013) Steven Kruijswijk (2014) and ReinTaaramäe (2015) in the record books.


Thor Hushovd, winner of the first edition of Arctic Race of Norway, and race ambassador, said: “This 4th edition of the Arctic Race of Norway promises to be balanced and exciting. All types of riders will have good opportunities, with at least two sprint finishes and stage 3 as Queen Stage.


"I can hardly tell which rider is going to be the race leader at the end of every stage and I am curious to see to what extent can the likes of Alexander Kristoff be fighting for the overall victory”


The stages of the 2016 Arctic Race of Norway:

Thursday 11 August, stage 1: Fauske – Rognan, 176 km

Friday 12 August, stage 2: Mo I Rana – Sandnessjøen, 198 km

Saturday 13 August, stage 3: Nesna – Korgfjellet, 160 km

Sunday 14 August, stage 4: Arctic Circle (Rana Kommune) – Bodø, 193 km



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Silver AO
33 years | today
29 years | today
Francesco RIVERA
39 years | today
24 years | today
25 years | today