uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“With my track record of the last two years I haven’t had the best of luck in January, so I’m a little reserved in saying I’d be the one to beat,” Dennis said, “but for me the time trial is the most impor...

Photo: Sirotti










15.11.2014 @ 08:38 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

The 2015 Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships will begin with a bang in the heart of Ballarat, on Wednesday 7 January, with the twilight criterium to be followed by live music.


And a new course, starting and finishing in Buninyong, will test the field in the individual time trial, on Thursday 8 January.


There isn’t a flat stretch of road on the course and the turn-around point is in the shadows of a wind farm, which will ensure tough conditions.


While the weekend’s road races will feature Cadel Evans - in the third last race of his career - trying to go one better than 2014 when he was second to Simon Gerrans, who is hungry to defend his title.


Cycling Australia CEO, Nick Green, said the change in the schedule aims to get the championships off to a big start and continue to raise the standard of the event.


“Part of what has raised the prestige of this event has been the significant contribution made by Ballarat Regional Tourism and the City of Ballarat,” Green said.


“When Robbie McEwen won on the Mt Buninyong course in 2002 the crowd could be counted in its hundreds.


“Earlier this year when we saw Simon Gerrans, Cadel Evans and Richie Porte on the final podium the crowd was estimated at 25,000, and the race was watched live on television by many more around the country.


“And we’re delighted that Mars, which is a significant part of the Ballarat community, continues as the naming rights sponsor of the event.”


Rohan Dennis (BMC), who finished fifth in the individual time trial at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships, is anxiously looking forward to the new time trial course.


“With my track record of the last two years I haven’t had the best of luck in January, so I’m a little reserved in saying I’d be the one to beat,” Dennis said, according to Cycling Australia official website, “but for me the time trial is the most important.”


The elite men’s road race and time trial has been won by an Orica-GreenEDGE rider for the past three editions. Dennis and his BMC teammates are out to end their run of success.


“The road race will be Orica-GreenEDGE versus everyone else,” he said.


“We’ll have a good team, with Cadel (Evans) and Campbell (Flakemore). I’ll talk to Cadel about the tactics and I’d be happy to lay it on the line for him.


“We’ll have to take a gamble and stick to our guns while they’ve got a lot more cards to paly.”


Dennis labeled Simon Gerrans (who ended 2014 in third place in the world rankings) as the one to beat with his Orica-GreenEDGE teammate Simon Clarke, Sky’s Richie Porte and Cadel Evans among the other big favourites.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Karolina KIETYTE
31 years | today
53 years | today
José Martin REYES
30 years | today
32 years | today
27 years | today