uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“If you are in the decisive move, and you finish five out of ten, you can be disappointed. I played a little poker. I knew it wouldn’t be a sprint with Van Emden there for Belkin."

Photo: Sirotti






23.08.2014 @ 14:40 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Jempy Drucker proved that he is ready to join BMC for the 2015 season when he finished 5th in a very hard edition of the Arnhem-Veenendal Classic. However, the Luxembourger was not too pleased with the way he handled the finale.


Yves Lampaert (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise) has won the Arnhem-Veenendaal Classic on Friday. He arrived solo after 197,9 kilometres. Jempy Drucker was the best rider for Wanty-Groupe Gobert at place five.


A breakaway of nine riders took off from the beginning of the race without any representation from Wanty-Groupe Gobert. The nine got a maximum lead of 3,35 minutes but then Belkin closed the gap for their sprinter Theo Bos. Tim de Troyer helped chase down the group. He worked at the front of the bunch for sixty kilometres before calling it quits in the feed zone.


At 20 kilometres from the line ten riders tried their chance. Kristjan Koren (Cannondale), Jos van Emden (Belkin), Dayer Quintana (Movistar), Jack Wilson (An Post-Chainreaction), Ivar Slik (Rabobank Development Team), Michael Vingerling (Team3M), Tim Gebauer (Team Stölting), Yves Lampaert and Tom Van Asbroeck (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise) as well as Jempy Drucker for Wanty-Groupe Gobert. They quickly gained a 35 second lead and the peloton seemed beaten.


The victory would go between the ten leaders. Lampaert attacked the group at six kilometres from the line. The other nine looked on while the Belgian took several metres quickly.


“When Lampaert attacked I was in first position in the group,” Drucker commented on the moment the race was won. “But if you go and close that gap, the others will just sit on your wheel. Topsport Vlaanderen played the game well. They had two guys up front and profited from that as best as they could.”


Drucker finished fifth but was a little disappointed about it.


“If you are in the decisive move, and you finish five out of ten, you can be disappointed. I played a little poker. I knew it wouldn’t be a sprint with Van Emden there for Belkin. I could have done better but okay, in the end I am pretty much okay with the result.”



Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59

Currently no news in this list

22 years | today
Vladimir RUSENOV
23 years | today
26 years | today
29 years | today
25 years | today

© 2013