uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We have multiple goals. We’d love to win the overall and stage wins along the way."

Photo: Sirotti






11.01.2016 @ 10:00 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

ORICA-GreenEDGE will have its sights set on stage wins and overall success at theSantos Tour Down Under, which starts with the People’s Choice Classic in Adelaide this Sunday, 17 January 2016.


Headlined by two-time champion Simon Gerrans and recent national criterium champion Caleb Ewan, ORICA-GreenEDGE is also supported by three powerful Australians in 2013 national champion Luke Durbridge, 2014 national time trial champion Michael Hepburn and 2006 Commonwealth Games champion Mathew Hayman.


2013 Tour de France yellow jersey wearer Daryl Impey (RSA) and five-time Tour de Romandie stage winner Michael Albasini (SUI) complete the line up.


As the team’s only home WorldTour race, sport director Matt White said the outfit has high ambitions.


“We have multiple goals,” White said. “We’d love to win the overall and stage wins along the way.


“I am very happy with the group we have assembled for what is always a very special race for this team."


With the re-introduction of the Corkscrew climb, White said general classification teams needed to be on alert across a number of stages throughout the Tour.


“The Tour route is almost identical to when Gerro won here two years ago,” he said. “There are three crucial stages for general classification.”


“Stirling just for time bonuses, the Corkscrew because it’s a very tough climb and there is no time to get a chase organised from the top of the climb to the finish line in Campbelltown and then Willunga.


“The race is always won or lost on Willunga. It’s not the toughest of climbs but if you lose contact with whatever group you are in, that can cost you the Tour.”


White identified two Colombians Jarlinson Pantano (IAM Cycling) and Sergio Henao (Team Sky), Italian Diego Ullisi (Lampre) along with the two Australians on the BMC Racing team - Richie Porte and defending champ Rohan Dennis - as the riders to watch in the overall battle.


A strong option for stage success for ORICA-GreenEDGE is Ewan, who has started the year with plenty of success having taken out the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic and Australian criterium championship already in 2016.


The eager 21-year-old sprinter will line up at the Tour Down Under for the first time in ORICA-GreenEDGE colours after his first appearance for the UniSA - Australia team in 2014.


“Obviously being the only WorldTour race in Australia you want to do it,” Ewan said of his motivation for the race. “The atmosphere there, even compared to a lot of the European races, is almost better and with the crowd being Australian, you have more support.”


In discussing the course, Ewan identified a number of stages that have the potential to come down to a bunch sprint.


“The criterium on the Sunday before the race, I’ll have a go in that,” he said.  “Then, I think the first stage will be a bunch finish and possibly the fourth stage, that usually comes down to a bunch sprint too.”


“Hopefully I can do well in those two stages and then the last stage, the crit in Adelaide at the end of the Tour, I’d like to go for that one as well.”


The Santos Tour Down Under kicks off with the People’s Choice Classic criterium on Sunday evening before the six-day Tour begins in earnest on Tuesday in Prospect and finishes with the traditional final Adelaide circuit on Sunday, 24 January.


ORICA-GreenEDGE at the Tour Down Under (17 – 24 Jan):

Michael Albasini (SUI, 34)
Luke Durbridge (AUS, WA, 24)
Caleb Ewan (AUS, NSW, 21)
Simon Gerrans (AUS, VIC, 35)
Mathew Hayman (AUS, NSW, 37)
Michael Hepburn (AUS, QLD, 24)
Daryl Impey (RSA, 30)



What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08

Currently no news in this list

41 years | today
27 years | today
24 years | today
26 years | today
25 years | today