uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“Today was an amazing day for Andrea Peron. To see him star in the breakaway in his home country was a dream come true for him and me and everyone at Team Novo Nordisk."

Photo: Sirotti




23.03.2015 @ 00:48 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

It was a historic day for Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team, when four of its riders became the first cyclists with diabetes to finish Milan-San Remo. Additionally, Team Novo Nordisk’s Andrea Peron rode for most of the day in the main breakaway at the iconic Italian one-day race.


“We just finished our first ever Milan-San Remo and I am so proud of our riders for being the first athletes with diabetes to finish an epic race like this one,” Team Novo Nordisk CEO and co-founder Phil Southerland said. “Today was an amazing day for Andrea Peron. To see him star in the breakaway in his home country was a dream come true for him and me and everyone at Team Novo Nordisk. These guys proved what may be possible with diabetes on a World Tour level.”


At Sunday’s race, the pace was high from the start of the 293-kilometer race. Team Novo Nordisk launched the first set of attacks to ensure one of its riders made it into the breakaway. The teamwork paid off when Peron and three other riders escaped and quickly built a gap of 45 seconds. Soon seven additional riders bridged up to make a break of 11 riders. The group earned a maximum gap of 10 minutes as they raced through heavy rains, but when they reached the final climbs, the group splintered. All escapees were eventually swept up as the race climbed into Cipressa. By the final 15 km, the peloton shrunk even further, and a group of approximately 30 riders sprinted for the finish in San Remo with John Degenkolb (Team Giant-Alpecin) taking the win.


“The weather made a big difference today, but up until 35 km remaining, everything was going according to plan. Andrea was in the breakaway and Javier Megias was well protected in the main group,” Team Novo Nordisk General Manager Vassili Davidenko explained. “In the end, it is a long day and the weather took its toll on Javier. If it was warmer, we might have had a different race. Overall, our Milan-San Remo debut was a success and we will come back next year with even more confidence and try again.”


John Degenkolb (Team Giant-Alpecin) took the win with Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) coming in second and Michael Matthews (Orica-Greenedge) finishing in third.


Team Novo Nordisk continues racing at the Tour de Taiwan on Monday with Stage 2, which runs from Taoyuan City to Jiaobanshan Park.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
25 years | today
28 years | today
Jonathan GARCIA
41 years | today
Adrian-Eugen MARIS
40 years | today