uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Australian fastest in massive bunch sprint at the end of the Tour of Slovenia while Croatian finishes safely in the bunch to bag his first overall win in the race after a number of near-misses

Photo: Sirotti










16.06.2013 @ 16:58 Posted by Malte Philbert Jessen

Brett Lancaster made it a good race for Orica-GreenEdge in the Tour of Slovenia as the Australian beat Maximilano Richeze (Lampre) and his teammate Jens Keukeleire in the big bunch sprint in Nove Mesto on the final stage. Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil) crossed the line in a safe position in the middle of the peloton, thus securing his first overall win in the race after a number of near-misses.


All was set for a big bunch sprint in Nove Mesto to make a fitting end to the Tour of Slovenia and the spectators got to see exactly that. Brett Lancaster held off Maximilano Richeze and teammate Jens Keukeleire in the final dash to the line, thus making it a memorable race for his Australian Orica-GreenEdge team after Svein Tuft's win in the opening time trial and Wesley Sulzberger's close 2nd place in stage 2.


A bunch sprint was always on the cards but that did not prevent several riders from trying their hands in the early breakaway. The Adrial Mobil team of race leader Radoslav Rogina kept everything under control to make sure that no dangerous rider was allowed to slip up the road.


19km into the race, Michael Rodriguez (Colombia), Tim Declercq (Topsport-Vlaanderen), Pavel Kochetkov (Rusvelo), Mauro Finetto (Vini Fantini) and Antonio Di Serafino (Androni) finally went clear and they were allowed to build up a gap of only 3 minutes before Adria Mobil started to control the advantage. For a long time, the Slovenian team kept the gap stable at around the 3-minute mark until Lampre also started to chase, the Italian team hoping to see Richeze winning a final sprint.


On the day's final categorized climb with 83km to go, 3nd placed Patrik Sinkewitz (Meridiana Kamen) showed that he was in no mood to admit defeat. He attacked on the steep slopes but was quickly reeled back in. However, the action saw the gap come down to just 1.30.


The peloton took a short breather, allowing the advantage to go back up to 2.40 before Orica-GreenEdge showed their intentions and started to chase. They were later replaced by Lampre who brought the gap down to only 50 seconds with 44km to go.


Lampre wanted to avoid an early catch and so stabilized the gap at around 50 seconds for a long time but with 15km to go, it was all over for the five escapees. All was now set for a bunch sprint as Lampre and Adria Mobil moved to the front on the final circuit in Nove Mesto.


It was, however, Orica-GreenEdge who benefited most from the day as Lancaster powered clear to take his first win since his stage victory in the 2010 Tour of California. Richeze could not pay back his teammates for their hard work and had to settle for second.


Rogina finished safely in the bunch to lock up his overall win, finally adding the race to his palmares after 3 previous top 6 finishes. Young talent Jan Polanc (Radenska) and Sinkewitz completed the podium.



1. Brett Lancaster


General classification:

1. Radoslav Rogina 13.05.56

2. Jan Polanc +0.19

3. Patrik Sinkewitz +0.37

4. Tadej Valjavec +1.05

5. Angelo Pagani +1.56

6. Darwin Atapuma +2.15

7. Jure Golcer +3.02

8. Enrico Barbin +3.22

9. Tilegen Maidos +3.51

10. Alexander Rybakov +3.55


Points classification:

1. Brett Lancaster 45

2. Radoslav Rogina 41

3. Jan Polanc 31

4. Enrico Barbin 31

5. Fabio Felline 30


Mountains classification:

1. Radoslav Rogina 15

2. Dalivier Ospina 12

3. Primoz Roglic 12

4. Laurens De Vreese 9

5. Patrik Sinkewitz 9


Youth classification:

1. Jan Polanc 13.06.15

2. Tilegen Maidos +3.32

3. Matej Mohoric +13.59

4. Luka Pibernik +30.04

5. Jaka Bostner +30.28


Teams classification:

1.Adria Mobil 39.26.56

2. Bardiani +13.08

3. Tirol +16.21

4. Topsport Vlaanderen +16.28

5. Astana +17.26



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

33 years | today
34 years | today
21 years | today
54 years | today
49 years | today