uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"It was the perfect scenario for our team and we can definitely be satisfied with this result. Fifth and sixth is a good result and we earn WorldTour points. Tony Gallopin won here last year, but the last climb was added to the course....

Photo: Sirotti








02.08.2014 @ 19:35 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Today the 34th edition of the Clásica San Sebastián was contested. Tony Gallopin and Jelle Vanendert became fifth and sixth respectively. The victory was for the Spaniard Alejandro Valverde.


Amets Txurruka set up a breakaway of his own after twenty kilometers and had an advantage up to ten minutes. During the second ascent of the Alto de Jaizkibel, with just over 60 kilometers to go, his adventure came to an end. Then Lopez (Sky) attacked. De Marchi (Cannondale), Montaguti (AG2R) and Visconti (Movistar) joined him. Later also Bakelants (OPQS), Losada (Katusha) and Ten Dam (Belkin) bridged. On the Alto de Arkale also this break was caught.


After an attempt of Grivko (Astana) a strongly reduced peloton started the Bordako Tontorra, the last climb of the day. There were several attacks. Rodriguez and Valverde reached the top together. In the descent Mollema, Nieve (Sky) and Adam Yates (Orica) caught the duo. Only five kilometers were left. Yates crashed. Valverde jumped away with three kilometers to go and could triumph at the finish. Mollema beat Rodriguez in the sprint for the second place. Tony Gallopin and Jelle Vanendert followed in another chase group of three. Tony got fifth, Jelle was sixth.


"It was the perfect scenario for our team and we can definitely be satisfied with this result. Fifth and sixth is a good result and we earn WorldTour points. Tony Gallopin won here last year, but the last climb was added to the course. It was a very steep one with top at 7.3 kilometers from the finish. That's an advantage for types like Valverde and Rodriguez. Tony and Jelle were positioned well in front at the bottom of the climb. They did a recon yesterday," Kurt Van de Wouwer DS of Lotto-Belisol said.


"Tim Wellens did good work for the team, just like the others. He was part of the peloton until the second ascent of the Jaizkibel. Louis Vervaeke got dropped on the second ascent of the Arkale, but could return and then hang on until the last climb. It's a very positive evaluation after his first classic," he finished.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

34 years | today
31 years | today
31 years | today
35 years | today
26 years | today