uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“I can’t be disappointed with the performance of our riders, although I had hoped for a better result. As expected, the race was closed for a long time, the attacks came in the last two fast laps."

Photo: Sirotti






12.09.2015 @ 14:16 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Rigoberto Uran won the GP Québec, the first of two Canadian WorldTour races. Just before the last kilometre he escaped and stayed ahead of the sprinting peloton. Michael Matthews was second, Alexander Kristoff third. Lotto Soudal rider Tony Gallopin finished as eighth.


It was already in the first of sixteen laps that a front group of six riders was formed:Ryan Roth, Adam De Vos, Wouter Wippert, Perrig Quemeneur, Cesare Benedetti and Darren Lapthorne. After thirty kilometres they reached their maximal lead of 9’10”; it shrunk lap after lap due to the work of BMC and Trek. In the twelfth lap the front group fell apart, after Wippert and Lapthorne had already been dropped. Benedetti tried together with Roth, but the peloton was only thirty seconds behind. In the fourteenth lap a nice front group was formed thanks to Lars Bak and Kuznetsov. Other riders in the group: Barguil, Bardet, Alaphilippe, Taaramae, Bookwalter, Kreuziger, Felline, Dillier, early escapee Roth and Jürgen Roelandts.


There was attack after attack, but none was successful. Kelderman and Fuglsang stayed in front a bit longer than the others, but with five kilometres to go they were caught as well. Under the banner of the last kilometre Rigoberto Uran took his chance. The Colombian only had a few seconds advantage, but that turned out to be sufficient to take the win in Québec.


Today the peloton travels to Montréal to ride the GP Montréal tomorrow.


“I can’t be disappointed with the performance of our riders, although I had hoped for a better result. As expected, the race was closed for a long time, the attacks came in the last two fast laps," sports director Herman Frison said. "The group of twelve with Bak and Roelandts seemed a good attempt, but Orica and Katusha weren’t represented. Tiesj Benoot had problems on a  bad moment and couldn’t play a role anymore, Tim Wellens didn’t have a good day.


"In the end it was a fight between the better riders, and it was a strong performance of Uran to take that win. An elite group of strong classics riders sprinted for the other top results. When you take a look at the results you see that these are the riders with ambitions for the World Championships. Now we go to Montréal, to race on a similar, maybe a bit tougher course, but I expect a same kind of race.”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Fabio ARU
32 years | today
Anna Zita Maria STRICKER
28 years | today
28 years | today
30 years | today
36 years | today