uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Italian beats Kump and Marcato in sprint from select 27-rider group while Hivert takes over leader's jersey from teammate Engoulvent







14.06.2013 @ 18:01 Posted by Malte Philbert Jessen

Giacomo Nizzolo (Radioshack) showed that he is much more than just a pure sprinter by surviving some very tough climbing in the final part of the second stage of the Tour de Suisse before outsprinting Marko Kump (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) and Paul Martens (Blanco) on the line. Jonathan Hivert (Sojasun) finished in the 27-rider lead group and takes over the leader's jersey from teammate Engoulvent who lost more than 12 minutes


The Tour of Luxembourg is the big home race for Radioshack Leopard and the team has lined up an exciting roster containing some of its brightest talents. One of those, sprinter Giacomo Nizzolo, showed why he is one of the most exciting young Italian sprinters by winning today's second stage in a sprint from a 27-rider front group.


The stage was a tough one as it was rounded off by two laps on a finishing circuit with a hard climb. Hence, it could be a day for a successful breakaway and the first part of the stage was raced at a rapid pace as attacks went thick and fast.


Jay Thomson (MTN) - one of yesterday's escapees - Kevin Hulsmans (Vini Fantini), Karsten Kroon (Saxo-Tinkoff), Marc Wauters (Vacansoleil) and Mikhail Ignatiev (Katusha) were some of the early attackers but none of them got anywhere. Instead, the tight move was formed by Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil), Mattia Pozzo (Vini Fantini) and Sebastien Turgot (Europcar) who escaped after 20km of racing.


The trio was allowed to build up a gap of 5.30 while Pozzo made sure to crest the summit of the climbs in first position to take over the lead in the mountains classification. However, the peloton started to chase and with 50km to go, the advantage was down to just 3 minutes.


De Gendt had made a late decision to race in Luxembourg to accumulate more race kilometres prior to the Tour and the Belgian had planned to leave the race after today's stage. He made sure to make his mark before he planned exit as he attacked solo and left his companions behind.


The peloton was now in full pursuit and the tough terrain saw overall leader Jimmy Engoulvent (Sojasun), yesterday's winner Alexander Porsev (Katusha) and KOM leader Duber Quintero (Colombia) drop off. With 27km to go, the chasing duo had been caught, and De Gendt was now only 50 seconds ahead of the main group with an rider move in between.


With around 20km to go, it was all back together but not for long. Jan Bakelants (Radioshack) made an attack and he was joined by Yukiya Arashiro (Europcar), Bruno Pires (Saxo-Tinkoff) and Steve Chainel (Ag2r).


As they started the final lap on the 13km circuit, the group was caught, and Katusha now set a furious pace. Porsev is not their only sprinter as Alexey Tsatevich is also a fast finisher and even climbs rather well. The Russian team wanted to win to prove that they have more than one fast Russian in their ranks.


On the final climb, the peloton broke into two pieces and Radioshack quickly realized that they were in a good position. Nizzolo had made the selection and so the Luxembourg team worked hard to keep the advantage.


With 3km to go, the team even tried to send one rider up the road but the move was unsuccessful. Instead it came down to a sprint from which Nizzolo emerged as the fastest. He beat Marko Kump and Paul Martens in the final dash to the line.


Jonathan Hivert finished 7th but with Danny Van Poppel (Vacansoleil) and his teammate Engoulvent both dropped, it was enough to move him from 3rd into 1st. He leads Matthias Brändle (IAM) by 2 seconds while Martens is a further second behind in 3rd.


Hivert will try to defend his lead in tomorrow's queen stage which once again finishes with a circuit containing an even tougher climb than today's.



1. Giacomo Nizzolo 4.10.24

2. Marko Kump

3. Paul Martens

4. Marco Marcato

5. Manuel Belletti

6. Vincent Jerome

7. Jonathan Hivert

8. Alexey Tsatevich

9. Manuele Boaro

10. Egoitz Garcia


General classification:

1. Joantahn Hivert 8.54.47

2. Matthias Brändle +0.02

3. Paul Martens +0.03

4. Damien Gaudin +0.05

5. Bob Jungels +0.06

6. Marco Marcato

7. Robert Gesink +0.07

8. Maarten Wynants +0.08

9. Sebastien Hinault +0.09

10. Jan Bakelants



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
Steven De CHAMPS
50 years | today
29 years | today
40 years | today
51 years | today