uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Porsev emerges as the fastest in a four-rider group that contains no less than three Katusha riders to earn the sixth straight title for the team

Photo: Katusha / Tim de Waele








29.06.2014 @ 19:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Alexander Porsev has made sure that the Russian road race title stays within the Katusha ranks after he finished off a dominat showing by the team in the country's road race championships. Having escaped with teammates Vladimir Gusev and Sergei Chernetskii in a 4-rider group, he beat Gusev in the sprint to take his first ever win in the event.


Since their first year in the peloton back in 2009, Katusha have won every edition of the Russian road race championships. There were no surprises in the 2014 edition either as the team made it 6 in a row with another dominant showing.


In the first five years, five different riders had taken the win and today it was a sixth rider that made sure that the title stayed within their ranks. Sprinter Alexander Porsev took the title when he beat his teammate Vladimir Gusev and Artur Ershov (Rusvelo) in a 4-rider sprint.


After a very aggressive start in the race in Tula, a 14-rider group emerged and no less than half of them were from Katusha. In addition to Gusev and Porsev, Sergei Chernetskii, Alexey Tsatevich, Anton Vorobyev, Viacheslav Kuznetsov and defending champion Vladimir Isaychev were there for the Russian team.


Soon it became clear that the winner would be one of the escapees and the attacking started when Isaychev, Tsatevich and Sergey Lagutin (Rusvelo) escaped. When that move was neutralized, Gusev and Arthur Ershov escaped and were later joined by Porsev and Chernetskii.


The quartet stayed away to the finish and here it was a foregone conclusion that sprinter Porsev would take the win. Gusev took second while Ershov denied Katusha a clean sweep of the podium.


Porsev will get the first chance to wear his jersey when he makes his Tour de France debut as lead-out man for Alexander Kristoff.



1. Alexander Porsev

2. Vladimir Gusev

3. Artur Ershov

4. Sergei Chernetskii



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

23 years | today
40 years | today
27 years | today
25 years | today
40 years | today