uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“He was in fantastic form when he turned up to the nationals, when he was just absolutely motoring, but it probably cost him a little bit later in the season. He’s adjusted his program slightly, which means he won...

Photo: Tim De Waele/TDW Sport






05.01.2016 @ 14:44 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Last year Richie Porte and Rohan Dennis finished first and second at the Australian Time Trial Championships. This year they will be teammates at BMC but will again start the season with an internal battle at Thursday's fight for the green and gold jersey.


In 2015 Rohan Dennis went into the national TT championships as the overwhelming favourite but he was surprisingly beaten by Richie Porte who claimed his first title. This year the two BMC riders are again the big favourites in the race of truth as Porte aims for a title defence and Dennis targets a maiden win in the event.


Since last year's battle, Dennis has marked himself out as one of the leading time triallists in the world, most notably with his win on the opening stage of the Tour de France, and Cycling Australia project manager Scott McGrory expects him to come out on top.


"It’s a battle of two,” he told The Courier. “A lot of it comes down to who has been doing the training in December, but we know these two guys are exceptional talents who will always perform.


"Rohan wants to start the season off with a bang. He’s come back nice and early and he has been fully focused, so expect him to get the win.”


Porte will make his BMC debut in Australia but McGrory has less expectations for the defending champion.


“Richie has only just come back from Europe and he was in better condition last year. This time his focus is a little bit different,” McGrory said. “He learned a lesson last year. He was in fantastic form when he turned up to the nationals, when he was just absolutely motoring, but it probably cost him a little bit later in the season. He’s adjusted his program slightly, which means he won't be in such sensational form this time.”


"My form is not like last year when I was at my best," said Porte. "I arrive pretty relaxed and that's probably a good thing because I would like to have the champion's jersey for another year. I'm on my new bike, I am happy and I am looking forward to starting the new season in Ballarat. We must see how the legs will be on the day."


"I'd love to go out with the green and gold jersey in both the road race and the time trial, especially the latter," said Dennis. "Both routes are adapted to my characteristics although I would have liked to see some change in the route for the road race."



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

34 years | today
35 years | today
Eduardo MOYATA
23 years | today
44 years | today
Amilcar MENDEZ
28 years | today