uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Despite only being third at the midpoint, Porte took a narrow 7-second victory over Dennis while Bobridge completed a podium that was without any Orica-GreenEDGE riders

Photo: A.S.O.








08.01.2015 @ 13:08 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Richie Porte confirmed that he is ready to make up for a disappointing 2014 season when he took a maiden win in the Australian time trial championships. After a close battle with Rohan Dennis on the hilly course in Buninyoung, he came away with a narrow 7-second win over the BMC rider while Jack Bobridge completed a podium that was without any riders from Orica-GreenEDGE.


2014 was a poor year for Richie Porte who suffered from health issues for most of the season. However, the Sky rider has claimed that he is now back at full health and today he fired a warning shot to his Giro d'Italia rivals when he won the Australian time trial championships.


Porte was up against Rohan Dennis and Jack Bobridge who are both training for Hour Record attempts in the near future but his in-form compatriots were unable to match his speed on the 40.9km course in Buninyoung. He gauged his effort perfectly to overcome a deficit at the halfway point where Dennis was fastest ahead of Bobridge and the Sky rider. In the end, Porte had turned things around, beating Dennis by 7 seconds, while Bobridge had to settle for third at 26 seconds.


Orica-GreenEDGE had lined up their three time trial stars Luke Durbridge, Damien Howson and reigning champion Michael Hepburn who all finished on the podium 12 months ago but for the first time in the history of the team, the Australian squad was unable to take the jersey. Durbridge could only manage fourth, Howson was fifth and Hepburn had a disappointing ride for seventh. U23 world champion Campbell Flakemore was 6th in the high-level field while former triple world champion Michael Rogers could only manage 8th.


The race was held on a 40.9km out-and-back course in Buninyoung and there was virtually no flat road at all. It was always up or down, making it a different affair compared to last year's flat route.


The first rider down the ramp was 51-year-old Brett Cottee who took off in rainy conditions but it was the fourth rider Dylan Pierre-Humbert who was the first to reach the finish. His time 54.36 turned out to be surprisingly hard to beat and he led the race for most of the day before ultimately finishing 11th.


The first rider to get close to Pierre-Humbert was Mitchell Lovelock-Fay but he was 56 seconds slower than the leader when he slotted into second. Along the way, it seemed that Craig Evers would take the lead but when the youngster crossed the line, he had been beaten by 16 seconds.


Nick Bensley was even closer as he was only 15 seconds from taking the lead but Pierre-Humbert remained firmly placed in the hot seat until Drapac's Lachlan Norris hit the course. He lowered the mark by 11 seconds to take the provisional lead in the race.


Former U23 champion Jordan Kerby had a poor ride to flot into 10th and so all eyes were on Bobridge who was expected to be the first contender for the overall victory. The Budget Forklifts rider didn't disappoint as he stopped the clock in a time that was 2.08 faster than Norris'.


Bobridge held off the challenges from William Clarke and Campbell Flakemore who slotted into second, but it quickly became clear that he was about to be beaten. Despite being behind Bobridge at the midpoint, Porte set a new best time by lowering the mark by 26 seconds.


Michael Rogers could only make it into third but all eyes now were on Dennis who had set the fastest split time. In the end, however, he had to be content with second.


After Ben Dyball had set the 6th best time, only the Orica-GreenEDGE trio of Howson, Durbridge and Hepburn remained. Howson set the fourth best time before he was beaten by his teammate Durbridge and when Hepburn could only manage 7th, Porte could step onto the podium as the winner.


Most of the contenders from today's race will be back in action on Sunday in the road race.



List of CyclingQuotes previews 15.05.2017 @ 07:54End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:5520 teams for Challenge Mallorca 03.01.2017 @ 16:47Tony Martin unveils new rainbow jersey 03.01.2017 @ 16:39

23 years | today
Monique GERBER
21 years | today
30 years | today
32 years | today
41 years | today

© 2013