uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

At the Bergamo finish line the challenge will be on between the new UCI Road World Champion, Michal Kwiatkowski, and the other Ponferrada protagonists, including Alejandro Valverde, Philippe Gilbert, Tony Gallopin and Fabio Aru

Photo: Sirotti


02.10.2014 @ 18:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard
The end of season monument race Il Lombardia will see many of the competitors from last week’s UCI Road World Championships taking to the start line, alongside other cycling aces.The UCI WorldTour race will be organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport on Sunday 5th October.
At the Bergamo finish line the challenge will be on between the new UCI Road World Champion, Michal Kwiatkowski, and the other Ponferrada protagonists, including Alejandro Valverde, Philippe Gilbert, Tony Gallopin and Fabio Aru. The other big names taking part are Joaquim Rodriguez, winner of the last two editions of the race, Alberto Contador, winner of the recent Vuelta a España and French riders Jean Christophe Peraud and Thibaut Pinot, respectively second and third in the overall classification at this year Tour de France.
Taking in over 3,000m of climbing, the race will start in Como, the autumn classic will take in the villages of Cantù, Erba, Asso and Onno before hitting Bellagio at 58km and the start of the Madonna del Ghisallo (754m), a beautiful and challenging 10.6km climb with gradients over 14 per cent.
The race will then continue through Asso, Pusiano, Oggiono, Galbiate and the first feeding zone at Pescate before the Alta Brianza and Meratese areas and into the Bergamo province in Calusco d’Adda.

After a first passage through the city of Bergamo, the race will begin a loop back with a series of testing climbs that will decide the final winner.

Riders will then face the Colle dei Pasta (413m), Colle Gallo (763m) and, after the second feeding zone in Cene, the Passo di Ganda (1060m), which featured in the 18th stage of Giro 2011.

After a fast descent through Selvino and Rigosa towards the bottom of the valley, the road will climb back towards Bracca (600m) and take in the technical descent towards Zogno and Brembilla. Riders will then begin the classic climb of Berbenno (695m), just 26km from the finish.

A fast descent towards Almenno San Salvatore takes the riders through Almè and back to Bergamo to face the final kilometres through the old Città Alta to the finish on the Sentierone.

The route to the finish line climbs towards Bergamo Alta, entering at Porta Garibaldi, up the Boccola ascent and its 200m of cobblestones towards Largo Colle Aperto, a climb that doesn’t drop below 10%, and includes peaks of 12%. The final descent is wide with a flat surface.

The final two kilometres takes in three technical turns, a 90 degree bend at 1800m with the road narrowing under Porta Sant’Agostino, a left turn at 1000m and at 250m from the line, driving towards the grand finale.
25 teams, 18 UCI ProTeams and 7 wildcards will start, each with 8 riders:
AG2R LA MONDIALE (FRA) – Peraud and Betancur
ASTANA PRO TEAM (KAZ) – Aru and Scarponi
BARDIANI CSF (ITA) – Battaglin and Pirazzi
BELKIN-PRO CYCLING TEAM (NED) – Kelderman and Mollema
BMC RACING TEAM (USA) – Gilbert and Van Garderen
CAJA RURAL - SEGUROS RGA (ESP) – L.L. Sanchez and Arroyo
CANNONDALE (ITA) – Basso and De Marchi
COLOMBIA (COL) – Duarte and Quintero (FRA) – Pinot and Roy
GARMIN SHARP (USA) – Hesjedal and Martin
IAM CYCLING (SUI) – Brandle and Pineau
LAMPRE-MERIDA (ITA) – Rui Costa and Bono
LOTTO BELISOL (BEL) – Gallopin and Wellens
MOVISTAR TEAM (ESP) – Valverde and Visconti
NERI SOTTOLI (ITA) – Ponzi and Taborre
ORICA GreenEDGE (AUS) – Albasini and Yates
TEAM EUROPCAR (FRA) – Gautier and Cousin
TEAM GIANT-SHIMANO (NED) – Barguil and Dumoulin
TEAM KATUSHA (RUS) – Rodriguez and Moreno
TEAM NETAPP - ENDURA (GER) – Konig and Machado
TEAM SKY (GBR) – Cataldo and Swift
TINKOFF-SAXO (RUS) – Contador and Zaugg
TREK FACTORY RACING (USA) – F. Schleck and Arredondo
2004 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2005 – Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2006 – Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2007 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2008 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2009 – Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
2010 – Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
2011 – Oliver Zaugg (SUI)
2012 – Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP)
2013 – Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP)



Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
Marion SICOT
26 years | today
38 years | today
Laurent BEURET
32 years | today
23 years | today

© 2013