uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“This is a huge disappointment, the biggest one of my career. I felt I was the fastest, although I knew Preben isn’t slow. He made a strong impression today."

Photo: Lotto Soudal






29.06.2015 @ 15:53 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Jürgen Roelandts won the silver medal at the Belgian Championships in Tervuren. He rode to the finish together with Preben Van Hecke, who is the new Belgian champion.


In the first of fourteen laps twenty-five riders got away and that was the breakaway of the day. Lotto Soudal was represented by six riders: Jasper De Buyst, Thomas De Gendt, Kenny Dehaes, Jürgen Roelandts, Tosh Van der Sande and Louis Vervaeke. They had a maximal lead of seven and a half minutes. With 85 kilometres to go the front group fell apart due to attacks of Lotto Soudal. Seven riders were left in front, including Dehaes, Roelandts and Van der Sande. During an ascent of the Horenberg Roelandts and Van der Sande took off with Preben Van Hecke. In the penultimate lap Tosh was dropped after a strong race. Roelandts and Van Hecke could stay ahead of a chasing Van Avermaet. Van Hecke beat Roelandts in the sprint.


“This is a huge disappointment, the biggest one of my career. I felt I was the fastest, although I knew Preben isn’t slow. He made a strong impression today. Greg and Preben train together, so I couldn’t let Greg join us, if he would attack I would have been the one to close the gap," Roelandts said.


“The team was in a good position right from the start. It wasn’t a specific plan that I would attack early. In the break of twenty-five I was riding in a comfortable position. Thomas de Gendt and Louis Vervaeke did lots of work to create a big gap. Then Jasper De Buyst, Kenny Dehaes and Tosh Van der Sande did a hell of a job. 80 kilometres before the end we caused a selection. The situation was good for us all day long. It isn’t enough for me that we rode a fantastic race as a team. I really wanted to win the title. Until the last two hundred metres it was looking good. In the sprint it went wrong. Preben rode a strong race, but it’s still a disappointment for me.”


In France Tony Gallopin won the silver medal too.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

44 years | today
50 years | today
21 years | today
29 years | today
Jeroen LEPLA
32 years | today