uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"It’s a huge honour to win the Oppy and have my name alongside previous winners like Russell Mockridge, Cadel Evans, Anna Meares and Caroline Buchanan who have all done great things for cycling in Australia."

Photo: Sirotti




21.11.2014 @ 16:34 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Simon Gerrans has added the 'Oppy Medal' to his engorged resume, with the Victorian cyclist claiming his maiden Sir Hubert 'Oppy' Opperman Medal & Trophy at the Jayco 2014 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards in Melbourne on Friday night.


It was a triple celebration for the Mansfield cyclist as he also claimed Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year Award and the Subaru People's Choice Award following thousands of online votes by cycling fans throughout October.


"It’s a huge honour to win the Oppy and have my name alongside previous winners like Russell Mockridge, Cadel Evans, Anna Meares and Caroline Buchanan who have all done great things for cycling in Australia," said Gerrans, 34.


"And it's really nice to be recognised in this way, particularly with so many people in the room who have been such an important part of my career."


A stellar 2014 from Gerrans kicked off in Australia in January when he claimed his second career win at the Road National Championships in Ballarat, before claiming overall honours at the Tour Down Under for a third time.


Gerrans then became the first Australian to win the Liège-Bastogne-Liège, and the first cyclist in history to do the double at the Canadian World Tour races, winning both the GP Cycliste de Quebec and GP Cycliste de Montréal.


Gerrans then capped the year with a silver medal in the men's road race at the UCI World Championships in Spain.


"There are so many people who helped me get started in cycling, coaches through my development in the state and national programs and, of course, my teammates who have been crucial in my success this year," said Gerrans, the only Australian cyclist to have both worn the yellow jersey at the Tour de France and win a stage of each of the three Grand Tours (Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and the Vuelta a España).


"I'm glad I get to share it with all of them because it wouldn't have been possible without their support."


Cycling Australia also announced a Tour 'Team of the Century' during the night - regonising 2014 as the 100th anniversary of Don Kirkham and Iddo ‘Snowy’ Munro becoming the first Australians to ride the Tour de France - headlined by Cadel Evans and Sir Hubert Opperman.


Complete List of all Award Winners

Sir Hubert Opperman Medal – Jayco Australian Cyclist of the Year Simon Gerrans (VIC)


Subaru People’s Choice - Simon Gerrans (VIC)


SBS Elite Road

Male Simon Gerrans (VIC)
Female Tiffany Cromwell (SA)


italktravel Glynde Elite Track

Male Alex Edmondson (SA)
Female Amy Cure (TAS)



Male Jared Graves (QLD)
Female Janine Jungfels (QLD)


AIS Under 23 Road Male Caleb Ewan (NSW)


King & Wood Mallesons Junior Cyclists

Junior Cyclist of the Year Macey Stewart (TAS)

Junior Track Male Sam Welsford (WA)
Junior Road Male Michael Storer (WA)
Junior Track Female Macey Stewart (TAS)
Junior Road Female Macey Stewart (TAS)
Junior MTB Male Max Warshawsky (QLD)
Junior MTB Female Tegan Molloy (NSW)


APC Elite Para-cycling

Female Jayme Richardson (NSW)
Male Alistair Donohoe (VIC)


Cycling Australia Domestic Coach of the Year  

Warren McDonald (QLD)


Cycling Australia International Coach of the Year 

Tim Decker (Track - Men's Endurance)


Mitchelton Masters Cyclists

Overall Gary Mandy (NSW)

Road Male Stephen Fairless (VIC)
Track Male Gary Mandy (NSW)
Road Female Laurelea Moss (QLD)
Track Female Jessica Laws (VIC)
MTB Male Garry James (ACT)
MTB Female Catherine Kelaher (ACT)


Australian Tour de France Team of the Century

Riders for the general classification – Cadel Evans, Phil Anderson
Domestiques to support general classification riders – Richie Porte, Michael Rogers
Sprinter – Robbie McEwen
Leadout men for the sprinter – Brad McGee, Mark Renshaw
All rounder – Simon Gerrans
Team captain – Sir Hubert Opperman


Subaru NRS winners

Joe Cooper
Ruth Corset
Avanti Racing
Holden Women’s Cycling


Cycling Australia Merit Award  CJ Farquharson


Subaru Australian Club Premiership Caulfield Carnegie CC


Norm Gailey Trophy – Champion State Victoria



What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
24 years | today
David Leite SILVA
39 years | today
24 years | today
27 years | today