uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We were chosen by the athletes and we are the voice of the riders. I am very happy to have been elected President and now the work begins.”




10.12.2015 @ 17:31 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Dutch road rider Bobbie Traksel was elected President of the UCI Athletes’ Commission in Aigle (Switzerland) on Thursday during the first meeting of the 13 members of the reinvigorated commission.


On the second day of the meeting, held at the UCI World Cycling Centre (WCC), which houses the headquarters of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), Bobbie Traksel was elected by his colleagues by 7 votes to 6 over American para-cyclist Greta Neimanas. The 34-year-old classics specialist is particularly known for his win in Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne in 2010 after a long breakaway in cold and difficult weather conditions.


The President will be co-opted onto the UCI Management Committee – the Federation’s executive body that acts under the authority of Congress – in accordance with the UCI Athletes' Commission's Terms of Reference. He will participate in the Management Committee’s three annual meetings (January, June and September), where he will present the UCI Athletes’ Commission report. His role includes sharing the views and expectations of athletes, and ensuring that good practices are applied and promoted (riders’ integrity, reconversion after retirement from sport, communication between the UCI and the athletes). His mandate will expire in September 2017, at the same time as that of the other commission members.


The UCI Athletes’ Commission is made up of 13 members from four continents, with men-women parity ensured for the four Olympic disciplines (road, track, mountain bike, BMX) and para-cycling. 

Between them, the Commission members have 40 UCI World Championship titles and rainbow jerseys as well as four Olympic gold medals. 

To ensure that the voice of the athletes is taken sufficiently into consideration, at least one of the Athletes’ Commission’s representatives in each discipline will also serve on the respective Commission for that discipline:

Road – Iris Slappendel (NED) 
MTB – Greg Minnaar (RSA) and Georgia Gould (USA)
BMX – Mariana Pajon (COL)
Para-cycling –Greta Neimanas (USA)
Track – Anna Meares (AUS) 
Cyclo-cross – Marianne Vos (NED) 
Trials – Kenny Belaey (BEL), already member of the Trials Commission
Indoor cycling – Manuel Kopp (GER).


The next meeting of the UCI Athletes’ Commission will take place in spring (dates to be communicated later).


“Brian Cookson wanted more interaction with the riders and that is a very good step for cyclists in all disciplines,” said the new President of the UCI Athletes’ Commission Bobbie Traksel. “We were chosen by the athletes and we are the voice of the riders. I am very happy to have been elected President and now the work begins.”


“It is a significant day for our institution,” said UCI President Brian Cookson. “The riders – across all disciplines – have elected their President and I look forward to welcoming Bobbie to the Management Committee at our next meeting in January. I am very happy that only a few months after the announcement of its revision, the UCI Athletes’ Commission is now ready to give riders the place they deserve at the highest administrative level of our sport.”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

38 years | today
28 years | today
42 years | today
44 years | today
37 years | today