uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“Today, Leonardo was our main card and we put our faith in him, trying to bring him in the best possible position before the closing kilometers."



08.10.2015 @ 20:57 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Riders aren’t used to race every day in the desert and to cope with temperatures reaching 42 degrees, but this was the scenario Team Colombia-Coldeportes faced in stage one of the first ever edition of the Abu Dhabi Tour.


The stage went from Qasr Al Sarab – Madinat Zayed and was cut short to 159,5 km, after the organizers have decided to cancel the final circuit due to the extreme heat. The script called for a sprint, and a bunch sprint it was in the end: Andrea Guardini (Astana) won the stage and took the leader’s jersey, ahead of Tom Boonen (Etixx-Quick Step) and Daniele Bennati (Tinkoff-Saxo).


Among a number of big guns, in a sprint launched by new World Champion Peter Sagan, Edwin Avila got to make himself noticed: the former points race world champion finished sixth, after entering the last curve in a very good position and managing to hold off Elia Viviani (Team Sky).


The sprint was over in a blink of an eye, after a day during which the main difficulty was posed by the high temperatures, this situation eventually leading to a low average speed, of just 34 km/h. All six riders of the only South American team at the start came in the same time as the winner.


Tomorrow, the second stage will see the riders go on a circuit starting and finishing in Abu Dhabi, after 130 kilometers.


The Escarabajos scored another top 10 on Thursday, this time in Italy, where Leonardo Duque came eight in Coppa Sabatini (Peccioli-Peccioli, 197 km), a race won by the Spaniard Eduard Prades (Caja Rural). Guided by Valerio Tebaldi from the team car, the squad pulled at the front in the second half of the day to reel in the three riders in the escape – Zilioli (Androni), Van Overberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen) and Cam (Bretagne) – before launching Leonardo Duque near the finale. Besides him, abother two Colombia-Coldeportes riders – Miguel Angel Rubiano and Rodolfo Torres – finished in the first group of around 50 riders.


“Today, Leonardo was our main card and we put our faith in him, trying to bring him in the best possible position before the closing kilometers,” Sports Director Valerio Tebaldi said. “We want to make the most out of the final events of the season, giving it all race after race, and we will continue to do so on Saturday and Sunday, in the Giro dell’Emilia and Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli.”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Cuitlahuac Navarro AYALA
45 years | today
Getachew ATSBHA
26 years | today
35 years | today
25 years | today
32 years | today