uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Van der Haar beat Van Aert in the inaugural Niels Albert Cross; Nys completed the podium

Photo: Team Giant-Alpecin






31.10.2015 @ 21:06 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Dutchman Lars van der Haar won the first Niels Albert Cross in Boom. On the beautiful course at De Schorre, he beat Wout van Aert in a sprint. Sven Nys was in contention until only half a lap remained but finished 45 seconds behind in third.



Lars van der Haar started strongly but Wout Van Aert followed attentively and the two worked well together. Sven Nys was initially a handful of seconds behind but gradually he closed the gap.


In the sunny weather and on the green grass, the three made it a fast race. The spectators on the 2600m circuit saw an exciting battle between three of the strongest riders. The two yongster put van der Haar under pressure in the hills but the veteran did not crack.


After the midpoint, Nys set his own pace. The situation remained unchanged for 15 minutes but Van Aert took over and systematically increased the pace. With less than one lap to go, Nys cracked and left it two the two youngsters to decide the win.


Van Aert tried to shake his Dutch rival off but he latched onto his wheel. It was even Van der Haar who took the lead just before the start of the last sand section. H did not relinquish it.


Earlier in the day, 35-year-old Ellen Van Loy was the fastest in the women's race. She beat Maud Capt Heijn and Loes Sels into the minor podium positions.


The Niels Albert Cross is not part of any series. Tomorrow the Koppenbergcross will be held, a race that is part of the Bpost Bank Trofee series.




1. Lars van der Haar 58:24 
2. Wout Van Aert at 0:06 
3. Sven Nys 0:45 
4. Tom Meeusen 1:34 
5. Jim Aernouts 1:37 
6. Joeri Adams 2:00 
7. Marcel Meisen 2:30 
8. Jens Adams 3:14 
9. Philipp Walsleben 
10. Rob Peeters 4:09



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Chiara VANNI
35 years | today
Masaaki KANNO
36 years | today
33 years | today
Vincent ROUXEL
37 years | today
21 years | today