uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

For the second year in a row, van der Haar takes a solo win in the World Cup opener in Koksijde; Pauwels and van Kessel complete the podium while Nys abandons

Photo: John de Jong






19.10.2014 @ 18:03 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Lars van der Haar has won the first World Cup race of the season in Valkenburg. Right from the start, he accelerated on the steep slopes of the Cauberg. Kevin Pauwels and Tom Meeusen could follow him in the first part of the race but at the midpoint he benefited from a crash from Pauwels to get clear. Belgian champion Sven Nys was never in the mix in the hot conditions and ended up abandoning the race.


Due to the new UCI regulations, no less than 12 Belgians took the start under hot conditions (21 degrees Celsius) in Valkenburg but ir was Lars van der Haar who pleased the home crowd by accelerating right from the start, immediately getting a gap. Initially, young Gianni Vermeersch and Tim Meeusen led the chase while Sven Nys who missed the cross in Ardooie due to illness, was in 10th position.


During the second lap, Meeusen and Kevin Pauwels managed to join van der Haar while Philip Walsleben, Francis Mourey and Vermeersch were 5 seconds behind. Nys dangled fifteen seconds behind along with Klaas Vantornout who was fighting back from a puncture.


Van der Haar continued to set the pace in the front. He excelled on the technical descents and put in several accelerations that forced Meeusen and Pauwels to dig deep. In one of those descents, Pauwels went down which allowed van der Haar to get a gap.


Behind him, Pauwels was now on the defensive while Meeusen was riding better after having been in difficulty a bit earlier. Van der Haar continued to accelerate and very soon he was 30 seconds ahead. For Nys, it went from bad to worse: with four laps to go, the Belgian champion suffered a mechanical. He continued to ride for a while in 20th position but ended up withdrawing from the race, almost ending his World Cup campaign in the very first race.


While the riders visited the pit zone to get water in the hot conditions, van der Haar continued to do the laps at a furious speed and eh was now more than a minute ahead. Behind him, Vantornout and Walsleben had joined Meeusen and Pauwels and later Thijs van Amerongen and Corne Van Kessel also made the junction.


Van der Haar's victory was never in danger and the 23-year-old Dutchman followed himself as the winner of the race. In 2013, he already won the race and laid the foundations for his overall World Cup win.


Like last year, Pauwels finished second, beating Corne van Kessel by several bike lengths. Vantornout and Meeusen completed the top 5.


The second round of the series takes place on November 22 in the sand dunes of Koksijde.



List of CyclingQuotes previews 15.05.2017 @ 07:54End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:5520 teams for Challenge Mallorca 03.01.2017 @ 16:47Tony Martin unveils new rainbow jersey 03.01.2017 @ 16:39

Xavier PAPO
27 years | today
Claudia CRETTI
21 years | today
42 years | today
38 years | today
Pasquale MUTO
37 years | today

© 2013