uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Belgian edges out Gilbert and teammate Vermote in the battle for the Drikleur to earn himself the right to wear the coveted jersey for the second consecutive year

Photo: OPQS / Tim de Waele










11.08.2013 @ 22:02 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Kristof Vandewalle (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) underlined his status as Belgium's best time triallist when he took his second consecutive win in the national championships today. He beat 2011 champion Philippe Gilbert and teammate Julien Vermote to earn himself the right to wear the Drikleur for another season.


Kristof Vandewalle has gradually developed into Belgium's best time triallist and when he last year won the Belgian time trial championship, he also got a jersey to prove it. Today he earned himself the right to wear that tunic for another year when he repeated that win on a 44km course in Maldegem.


Vandewalle was superior in the race and defeated 2011 champion Philippe Gilbert convincingly, finishing in a time that was 1.02 better than the one set by the world road race champion. Julien Vermote proved that he is another emerging time trial specialist by making it onto the podium with a time that was only 3 seconds slowe than Gilbert's.


Jan Bakelants (Radioshack) proved his versatile talents by finishing 4th while talented Yves Lampaert (Topsport Vlaanderen) completed the top 5. Former champions Stijn Devolder (Radioshack) and Maxime Monfort had disappointing rides to finish 6th and 17th respectively while Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) finished an even more distant 17th.


Vandewalle has now set his sights on the world team time trial championships where he aims to defend last year's victory with his team while Gilbert and Bakelants proved that they are ready for the Eneco Tour which starts tomorrow.



1. Kristof Vandewalle 54.04

2. Philippe Gilbert +1.02

3. Julien Vermote +1.05

4. Jan Bakelants +1.11

5. Yves Lampaert +1.15

6. Stijn Devolder +1.42

7. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck +1.43

8. Bart De Clercq +1.44

9. David Boucher +1.58

10. Stijn Steels +2.14



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Marcel WYSS
36 years | today
43 years | today
Rafael VALLS
35 years | today
34 years | today
Sébastien JOLY
43 years | today