uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“You have to have the legs to win on that course. It doesn’t matter if you have a team of 10 or an army of 20, if you don’t have the legs, you aren’t going to win," Roulston says

Photo: Sirotti




10.01.2014 @ 13:27 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Key cyclists are expecting a war of attrition at this weekend’s New Zealand elite road national championships in Christchurch.


The 185km men’s race on Sunday includes 10 climbs up the testing Dyers Pass in the Cashmere Hills, while Saturday’s women’s race comprises six ascents.


There is always plenty of conjecture about the merits of the battle between the World Pro Tour riders,  others riding internationally, the domestic cyclists and those banding together in trade teams.


However the winners of the previous four men’s titles in Christchurch believe it is more a case of the last man standing rather than the intricacies of tactics.


“You have to have the legs to win on that course,” said three-time and defending champion, Hayden Roulston.”It doesn’t matter if you have a team of 10 or an army of 20, if you don’t have the legs, you aren’t going to win.”


The 2012 winner, James Williamson from Alexandra believes the Dyers Pass climb is the key.


“It’s really a race of attrition. The key to doing well is the ability to manage repeat efforts up the climb,” Williamson said. “Yes you have to be able to ride the distance but the climbs are where you see them dropping off.”


Garmin Sharp professional Jack Bauer, who won in 2010, said groups of riders can make a difference but the strongest on the day generally prevails.


“For us Northern Hemisphere riders it is tough because we have been riding from January until October and so it’s hard to be as fit as you would like to be for this,” Bauer said.


“That’s no excuse though. The three Radioshack boys riding together last year did make a difference but it is also a case of being really strong over the climbs.”


Roulston, who is wearing the new colours of the Trek Factory Team, is chasing his fourth national road race title on Sunday, and his third in the last four years.


He will get support from fellow Trek World Pro Teammate Jesse Sergent, while there will be chances for Bauer, the 2010 winner, and Geoge Bennett, second last year, who will have his first major ride for his new Cannondale team.


Williamson, the 2012 champion, has had a mixed build-up but believes he can be a contender and will receive considerable support from his New Zealand Cycling Project team , a new trade team established by James Canny.

Michael Vink, a two-time under-23 national champion, will also have trade team support, along with Jason Allen, Olympic medallist Marc Ryan and former Olympian Robin Reid from Scotty Browns Vision Systems.


The well-performed Mike Northey and Roman van Uden both enjoyed strong showings last year and are sure to be prominent at the business-end of Sunday’s race.


James Oram, who rides for the new Bissell Development team in USA this year, is heavily favoured to defend his under-23 road race honours from Lotto Belisol Development professional Hayden McCormick and the likes of Dion Smith, new time trial champion Fraser Gough and Liam Aitcheson.


The championships began with the time trials at Lincoln College on Friday, with women’s road race over 120.5kms on Saturday comprising eight laps with six climbs of the infamous Dyers Pass. The elite and under-23 men’s race on Sunday is 12 laps in total for 183.7kms, starting with the usual full lap on the flat before 10 circuits up the Dyers Pass climb and a final flat lap to the finish.


Taylor Gunman became a surprise winner of the elite time trial while Gough took the U23 title.



List of CyclingQuotes previews 15.05.2017 @ 07:54End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:5520 teams for Challenge Mallorca 03.01.2017 @ 16:47Tony Martin unveils new rainbow jersey 03.01.2017 @ 16:39

24 years | today
Leif-Johnny STØDLE
37 years | today
26 years | today
19 years | today
38 years | today

© 2013