uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“It’s a great finale. It looks a bit like the Cauberg. It was also the first real bunch sprint for me as I came second on stage 1 but I slipped in the second last corner so I couldn’t sprint as I wanted to. This time it we...

Photo: Sirotti










12.03.2014 @ 12:58 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Wouter Wippert (Drapac) earned himself the biggest win of his career when he held off Christoph Schweizer (Synergy Baku) in a tough uphill sprint in the third stage of the Tour de Taiwan. Race leader Remy Dri Gregorio (La Pomme Marseille) was attentive in the hard finale and a fourth place was enough to defend his leader's jersey ahead of the queen stage.


Dutchman Wouter Wippert of Drapac Professional Cycling emerged as the winner of the close match that opposed him to Synergy Baku’s uphill sprinter Christoph Schweizer atop the 650 metres long climb leading to the magnificent statue of Baguashan Buddha in Changhua for the thrilling finale of stage 3 in the 2014 Tour de Taiwan.


“I came to the front with 300 metres to go”, Wippert described, “but that was too far away from the finish. I had to let Schweizer pass me before I made my final effort in the last 100 metres but it’s been tight till the very end.” The crowd called up for the photo-finish to determine the winner but it was the Dutchman who raised his arms up the air, indeed.


“This is my first race ever in Asia but I had time to look at the finishing uphill prior to the start, so I knew what kind of tactic to use”, Wippert explained. “It’s a great finale. It looks a bit like the Cauberg [the hilltop finish of the Amstel Gold Race and the 2012 world championships]. It was also the first real bunch sprint for me as I came second on stage 1 but I slipped in the second last corner so I couldn’t sprint as I wanted to. This time it went all at perfection.”


“Today I feel like I’ve just won my first pro race as it is my first ever victory in a category 1 race”, said the 23 year old who recently claimed two stages of the New Zealand classic and previously won a stage at the 2010 Tour of Slovakia, at the 2011 Tour of Berlin, at the 2011 Tour de l’Avenir (ahead of his compatriot Moreno Hofland who took stage 2 at Paris-Nice on Monday and the Tour of Hainan overall last year), and at the 2012 Triptyque Monts et Châteaux, all category 2 or U23 international races.


Crossing the line in third place while a crash behind him involved race favorite Wesley Sulzberger, also from Drapac, the 2008 winner of the Tour de Taiwan John Murphy from Unitedhealthcare collected four seconds bonus that brought him four seconds closer to overall leader Rémy Di Gregorio of La Pomme Marseille.


“But this is another good day for us”, said Di Gregorio who finished fourth, just ahead of Cannondale’s neo pro Davide Formolo who is a pure climber in the making. “I’ve literally loved this uphill finish. There should be more of finales like this one in cycling. It’s a fantastic venue for a bike race. This is my first time in Taiwan and I’m delighted. Leading the race gives us the responsibility to control the situation but Drapac actually helped us to close the gap.”


Following the King of the Mountain price won after 14km by local hero Feng Chung Kai of Team Gusto, a four-man breakaway led the race with Cheung King Lok (Team Hong Kong-China), Liu Chin Feng (Team Gusto), Aldo Ilesic (Unitedhealthcare) and Tim Gebauer (Team Stölting) who enjoyed an advantage of four minutes. Ilesic persisted and was the last man caught at the bottom of the spectacular uphill stretch.


Stage 4 in Tainan City is considered the queen stage of the race with a finish at Zengwen Reservoir thirty kilometres after the usual end at Guanzhiling that saw the victory of Australia’s Nathan Earle who earned his first pro contract at Team Sky after imposing himself at the Tour de Taiwan last year.



Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:55

Currently no news in this list

37 years | today
30 years | today
Victor ANCCO
42 years | today
69 years | today
28 years | today

© 2013