uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“Simon popped and then the serious attacks began with 20km to go, ones we felt on the road at the time we needed to go with. Adam covered that but in the process that cooked him and he went from the front of the race to out the back.&...

Photo: Tour of Turkey/Mario Stiehl






01.03.2015 @ 21:56 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

ORICA-GreenEDGE has finished outside the top ten at La Drome Classic in France today, despite a gallant effort by the outfit from the front of the peloton.


2013 Italian champion Ivan Santaromita was the team’s highest placed finisher in 12th, behind Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R La Mondiale) who won solo after an attack on the final climb.


“Going through the hills we had Simon and Adam Yates, Ivan (Santaromita) and Daryl Impey still in contention,” sport director David McPartland said.


“Simon popped and then the serious attacks began with 20km to go, ones we felt on the road at the time we needed to go with.


“Adam covered that but in the process that cooked him and he went from the front of the race to out the back.


“Over the final climb before the run in, the remaining select group split in three but with the first two regrouping, Ivan was still at the front.  In the end he just didn’t have the legs to go with them on the final punchy run in and finished twelfth.”


The day’s early move went away without too much resistance but was only given an advantage of five minutes 45seconds at the 50km mark before being stabilised.


The initial quartet crumbled under the pressure of the chase and by the bottom of the longest climb of the day with 30km remaining, it was Quentin Pacher (Equipe Cycliste Armee de Terre) and Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale) with 30seconds advantage.


ORICA-GreenEDGE sent troops to the front of the peloton and reeled the pair in on the following climb.


“It was a decision that was made on the road,” McPartland said.


“It gave us more control over that period of the race. Instead of having to respond to the moves and the attacks, we had numbers there, seven guys there, and the horsepower to do that.”


A counter attack by Riccardo Zoidl (Trek Factory Racing) marked the beginning of countless attacks before a group of five established a narrow lead to a chase group of eight, including Santaromita, over the penultimate climb.


The two groups briefly reformed before the punchy two-kilometre finale saw fireworks and the winning move by Dumoulin.  



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

40 years | today
28 years | today
25 years | today
Xuelong HE
27 years | today
Dongkyun SON
23 years | today