uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Starting on Thursday at 14.45 CEST, you can follow Milan-Turin on

Photo: Sirotti




01.10.2015 @ 14:54 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The season is about to end but motivated in-form riders still have a chance to add a prestigious win to the palmares. The early autumn is usually loaded with Italian one-day races that culminate with Il Lombardia next Sunday. On Wednesday and Thursday you can follow two of these classics on


On Wednesday, the series will kick off with Tre Vallie Varesine which is also the final race in the Trittico Lombardo. Traditionally the race has been held in the same week as the first two races in that series, Coppa Agostoni and Coppa Bernocchi, and very often in August. This year it has been moved to the week after Worlds and will start a busy week for Italian cycling fans. Like last year it will be held on a circuit with the short, steep Montello climb which makes it a perfect race for Ardennes specialists. Last year Michael Albasini came out on top and this year riders like Vincenzo Nibali, Fabio Aru, Thibaut Pinot, Frank Schleck, Fabio Felline, Giacomo Nizzolo, Davide Rebellin, Michele Scarponi, Franco Pellizotti and Mauro Finetto lead a strong field.


On Thursday it is time for the classic Milan-Turin which is the oldest Italian one-day race. The race can be split into two parts as a long, flat opening section leads to the brutal Colle Superga climb which will be passed twice, with the final passage leading to the finish. That makes it a race for pure climbers which is reflected in the fact that it is the only one-day race that Alberto Contador has won. Last it year Giampaolo Caruso took the biggest win of his career but as he is now considering how to avoid suspension following his positive EPO test, the door is open for riders like Domenico Pozzovivo, Romain Bardet, Pierre-Roger Latour, Alexis Vuillermoz, Aru, Scarponi, Miguel Angel Lopez, Manuel Bongiorno, Edoardo Zardini, Rodolfo Torres, Pinot, Mathias Frank, Giovanni Visconti, Louis Meintjes, Damiano Cunego, Finetto, Dan Martin, Davide Formolo, Daniel Moreno, Wilco Kelderman, Steven Kruijswijk, Richie Porte, Sergio Henao, Mikel Nieve, Leopold König, Wout Poel, Rafal Majka, Schelck and Julian Arredondo who could all feature in this kind of finale.


Starting on Wednesday at 15.00 CEST you can follow Tre Valli Varesine here. Starting on Thursday at 14.45 CEST, you can follow Milan-Turin here.



Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58

Currently no news in this list

Fridtjof Rasin RØINÅS
27 years | today
21 years | today
Giuseppe FONZI
30 years | today
32 years | today
49 years | today