uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Australian benefits from an early start to take the first leader's jersey in the Swiss national tour as heavy wind was a disadvantage for the late starters and race favourites

Photo: Unipublic/Graham Watson






08.06.2013 @ 16:51 Posted by Philip Tarning-Andersen

Cameron Meyer (Orica-GreenEdge) was a surprise winner of today's short 8,1km opening time trial of the Tour de Suisse when the American used an early to start to his benefit. With increasing winds, the late starters not even came close to the time set by Meyer and not even big favourite Fabian Cancellara (Radioshack-Leopard) could overcome the changed climatic conditions to beat the Australian and had to settle for a disappointing 16th place.


Time trials are mostly determined by raw power and technical skills but sometimes a careful preparation can also be quite beneficial. When Cameron Meyer chose to start early in today's 8,1km opening stage of the Tour de Suisse it proved to be much more crucial than the strength of his legs.


When the Australian blasted across the finish line to finish in a time of 9.39 and thus improve the previous mark set by Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), few had expected that time to stand a chance when the big favourite Fabian Cancellara would roll down the ramp later in the move. That prediction proved, however, to be wrong as the Australian had made a clever choice by going off so early.


The wind became extremely strong later in the afternoon and on the first, flat part of the course, the riders faced a tough headwind on some very exposed roads. When riders kept passing the intermediate time check way off the mark set by Meyer, it was evident that the conditions was a clear disadvantage to the late starters.


Wilco Kelderman (Blanco) and Andreas Klöden (Radioshack) both had solid performances but lost 42 seconds to Meyer to signal just how difficult it was to beat the time set by Meyer. Last year's winner of the first time trial Peter Sagan (Cannondale) did even better and was by far the best of the late starters with only a few riders still to come.


One of those included Cancellara and by now the only question was if the Swiss powerhouse was so superior that he could still win in these conditions. When he passed the intermediate check in a time 9 seconds slower than Sagan's, it was, however, clear that Meyer would be the day's winner.


Cancellara improved much in the last part of the course and when he crossed the finish line, he was by far the best of the last starters, beating Sagan by 13 seconds. However, his time was still 22 seconds from the mark set by Meyer and so the former track star could celebrate his biggest ever win on the road.


Among the GC riders, Peter Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) and Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) benefited from early starts to both finish in the top 10. Another winner was Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) who was expected to lose plenty of time today but due to an early start now finds himself ahead of a strong time triallists like Tejay Van Garderen (BMC).


The American had a disappointing performance, finishing 10 seconds off the mark set by Sagan despite his status as an outsider for the stage win. He was even beaten by defending champion Rui Costa who had a solid ride as the last rider down the ramp and only lost 40 seconds to Meyer.


Meyer will start tomorrow's 2nd stage as the first leader of the race and he will head directly into the mountains. Bad weather has forced organizers to skip the day's first climb, the Nufenenpass, but the stage will still finish atop the category 1 climb to Crans-Montana and so we should get an early indication of the strength of the best GC riders.


Starting at 16.05, you can follow the action on


Result and general classification:

1. Cameron Meyer 9.39

2. Niki Terpstra +0.10

3. Heinrich Haussler +0.14

4. Alex Rasmussen +0.15

5. Gorka Verdudo +0.16

6. Reto Hollenstein +0.16

7. Michel Koch +0.18

8. Peter Velits +0.19

9. Ryder Hesjedal +0.19

10. Matteo Tosatto +0.19


Points classification:

1. Cameron Meyer 15

2. Niki Terpstra 12

3. Heinrich Haussler 10

4. Alex Rasmussen 9

5. Gorka Verdudo 8


Teams classification:

1. Omega Pharma-Quick Step 29.58

2. Orica-GreenEdge +0.06

3. IAM +0.08

4. BMC +0.09

5. Radioshack Leopard +0.13



What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08

Currently no news in this list

49 years | today
Viacheslav KUZNETSOV
32 years | today
Alessandra NERI
31 years | today
Laurent BEURET
35 years | today
22 years | today