uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Among the starters arechampions such as the recent Vuelta a España winner, Fabio Aru, the winner of the last edition of Il Lombardia, the Irishman Daniel Martin, the Australian Richie Porte and the Polish Rafal Majka

Photo: Sirotti




29.09.2015 @ 18:40 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The provisional entry lists are announced today for the two autumn classic cycling races, Milano-Torino and GranPiemonte. Part of the "trittico di autunno" – ‘the autumn triptych’ – their starting riders will come from 29 and 32 different countries, respectively, underlining the international importance of the events.

The Milano-Torino, the oldest classic race in the international calendar with its first edition raced in 1876 with the victory of Paolo Magretti, will be raced on Thursday 1 October starting from San Giuliano Milanese and finishing at the Basilica di Superga in Turin after 186km. Among the starters are champions such as the recent Vuelta a España winner, Fabio Aru (Astana Pro Team), the winner of the last edition of Il Lombardia, the Irishman Daniel Martin (Team Cannondale - Garmin), the Australian Richie Porte (Team Sky) and the Polish Rafal Majka (Tinkoff - Saxo).

Friday 2 October will mark the return of the GranPiemonte, starting from San Francesco al Campo and finishing in Ciriè after 185km. At the start there will be many stage winners of the last edition of Giro d'Italia such as Sacha Modolo, Diego Ulissi and Jan Polanc (Lampre - Merida), Beñat Intxausti (Movistar Team), Paolo Tiralongo (Astana Pro Team), Davide Formolo (Team Cannondale - Garmin) and Elia Viviani (Team Sky), among many other cycling aces.



Starting in San Giuliano Milanese, this year's Milano-Torino route crosses the Pianura Padanaon flat roads with a long progression through the areas of Vigevano and the Lomellina until the start of Casale Monferrato; here the route profile of the race undulates with smooth climbs that lead to the final circuit.

After San Mauro Torinese the route follows the river Po along Corso Casale before climbing towards the Basilica di Superga for the first time. The route then descends to Rivodora along a challenging descent (dropping 600m) that takes the riders back to San Mauro before they start the climb back to the finish line with an inclination that can go over 10%. A feed station is in Pozzo Sant’Evasio, shortly after Casale Monferrato (km 91-94).

Final kilometres
The last 5km (which are repeated twice with the exception of the final 600m) start in Corso Casale, Turin. Here, the climb to the Basilica di Superga starts. Its average inclination is 9.1% with a maximum inclination around the middle of the climb of 14% and long stretches at 10%. 600m from the finish line there’s a U-turn to the left to face a 8.2% ramp before the last bend, which is only 50m from the finish line (road is 7m wide).
The route is divided quite clearly into two parts. The first 110km run along the Canavese roads up to Ivrea. Here the second part begins and features quite technical climbs and descents that lead to the final 13.3km circuit in Ciriè.

Past Ivrea, the route takes in the Alice Superiore climb (7km with an average 5% gradient); then, after a short yet quite technical descent, it climbs again towards Prascorsano (8 km with a 4% average gradient, and sharp peaks over the first sector). A second tough descent leads to Rivara and Rocca Canavese. Here, the route descends slightly all the way to Ciriè, after 171.7km of racing, for the first passage to the finish line. The final 13.3km circuit is then covered once. The fixed feed zone is located in Piverone, on the SP. 228 (km 87-90).

Final kilometres
The final 13.3km circuit (to be covered once) rolls on virtually flat and relatively wide roads with just a 500m uphill stretch (with a 6% gradient) mid-circuit. The final kilometre features two 90-degree turns in the urban area; this leads to the 250m-long home straight (on a 7.5m wide asphalt road).



Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58

Currently no news in this list

32 years | today
Jan Hendrik VERDOES
32 years | today
40 years | today
39 years | today
21 years | today