uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Silvan was our leader for today and, though he is still a young guy, he did quite well for us," Sciandri says

Photo: BMC Racing Team (Continuum Sports, LLC)




27.03.2014 @ 16:04 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

With Greg Van Avermaet, Thor Hushovd, and Tylor Phinney saving themselves for Friday's E3 Harelbeke, BMC had a very young line-up in yesterday's Dwars door Vlaanderen. The many youngsters failed to make their presence felt and instead it was Stephen Cummings who put the jersey in the spotlight by joining the early break.


Steve Cummings was in the breakaway and Silvan Dillier was the BMC Racing Team's top finisher Wednesday at Dwars door Vlaanderen, as Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) soloed to the win for the second time in three years. 

The 200.8-kilometer race included 11 distinctive short – but steep – climbs, five of which featured cobblestones.

After a fast hour of racing that saw the peloton cover more than 50 kilometers, 22 riders shook free from the peloton. But the group of escapees that included Cummings was never allowed more than three minutes of freedom.

As eight remaining riders from the breakaway were being caught on the Paterberg with 30 km to go, Terpstra attacked. He gradually increased his lead to 30 seconds with 20 km to go, saw it fall to 20 seconds as four riders gave chase out of the peloton, and won by 17 seconds.

Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) won the field sprint ahead of Borut Bozic (Astana Pro Team) and Jean-Pierre Drucker (Wanty-Goubert). Dillier, in 18th place, and Klaas Lodewyck, in 32nd, were the BMC Racing Team's riders in the main finishing group.

"It was good to see Steve Cummings in the breakaway," sports director Max Sciandri said. "He made the best out of of it, especially since this is not really his kind of race. But he put himself in a good spot. Silvan was our leader for today and, though he is still a young guy, he did quite well for us."



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Christophe SLEURS
34 years | today
Sébastien JOLY
45 years | today
37 years | today
Lauro Cesar CHAMAN
37 years | today
38 years | today