uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"It was after 58km that the break eventually went ahead and then it was mostly IAM and Katusha that controlled the bunch. For the sprint we had Edvald and Gerald but they weren't able to fight for the win today."







14.08.2015 @ 18:39 Posted by Andy Pedersen

The 2nd stage of the Arctic Race of Norway saw a mass bunch sprint decide the stage with Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon 18) getting through to take the win. Federico Zurlo (United Healthcare) was 2nd and Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) took 3rd place.


MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung were dealt a bit of a blow today as Reinardt Janse van Rensburg couldn't take to the start because of a throat infection and fever, and then halfway into the stage Theo Bos also had to pull out due to illness. The plan remained the same though as they looked after Edvald Boasson Hagen for the sprint.


Jayde Julius, wearing the Viking Jersey for being voted the race's best teammate after yesterday's stage, hardly left the side of Boasson Hagen all day as the peloton kept a 6 rider break in check. The finish suited a pure sprinter and so most teams had an interest in bringing the race back together. With 16km to go, the desired result was inevitable as the last of the escapees were caught.


IAM cycling set the pace to the final 3km and then Bora-Argon 18 took over the leadout responsibilities. Gerald Ciolek and Boasson Hagen were well positioned heading toward the flamme rouge before the front of the race was swamped by a number of sprint hopefuls.


With so many riders in close proximity and not enough road to work with, there was just no way through for Boasson Hagen and safety became the objective. Thanks to winning the first intermediate sprint of the day, he  is 3rd on the general classification only 6 seconds behind Kristoff.


“There was a fast start with many teams trying to get into the break. I think this was because there was a prize of 500kg of dalmon at one of the GPM's today. It was after 58km that the break eventually went ahead and then it was mostly IAM and Katusha that controlled the bunch. For the sprint we had Edvald and Gerald but they weren't able to fight for the win today,” sport director Alex Sans Vega said.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Yohann GENE
41 years | today
22 years | today
Liisi RIST
31 years | today
28 years | today
34 years | today