uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“It was a bloody hard day. We always knew that the conditions were going to have a big effect on the race but throwing the rain in there with the wind, there was no hiding or holding back.”

Photo: Sirotti






01.02.2015 @ 17:21 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

2014 Jayco Herald Sun Tour champion Simon Clarke has sprinted to second place at the inaugural Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race in Geelong this afternoon.


The ‘European Classics’ like course promised surprises and it well and truly delivered, as an enthralling battle unfolded to see out an Australian cycling champion in Evans.


Clarke survived the early war of attrition and positioned himself in an elite front group of riders at the business end of the race.  Eventually a select assembly, made up of less than ten riders, contested the final sprint with Gianni Meersman (Etixx-Quickstep) reigning supreme.


“It was a bloody hard day,” Clarke said post-race. “We always knew that the conditions were going to have a big effect on the race but throwing the rain in there with the wind, there was no hiding or holding back.”


“You had to make sure you kept staying in the front with the attacks and from the turn back into Geelong towards the finish circuit it was racing full gas the whole way.


“If you weren’t aggressive at the front you were going backwards.”


The first major break of the race, including Laurent Didier (Trek Factory Racing), Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela), Darcey Wooley (African Wildlife Safaris) and Josh Taylor (Charter Mason Giant) established after 14km of racing.


Brodie Talbot (Team Budget Forklifts) bridged across to make a group of five, before Didier suffered in a fall and withdrew and their-once five-minute advantage diminished.


With 80km to ride, as the race turned to make its way back to the local Geelong finishing circuit, Garmin-Cannondale utilised crosswinds to split the field into pieces.  As the race crossed the finish line, with 60km left, for the start of the three final circuits, ORICA-GreenEDGE was down to just three riders – Clarke, Damien Howson and Cameron Meyer.


The dynamic at the front of the race continued to change as groups went off the front and out the back. Clarke brought himself back into serious contention bridging a gap to an escape group of three riders and remaining aggressive and present in each move throughout the final lap.


Crowds lined the street course wide, in particular on the finishing circuit, to watch teams trade blows and keep everyone guessing on the likely outcome at crunch point.


“It’s been a great weekend,” Clarke said. “The crowd was really vocal and giving me great support out there in the final two laps and it really was a great turnout considering the unfavourable weather.”


ORICA-GreenEDGE, with a team mirroring today’s, will line up in their final race of the Australian summer at the Jayco Herald Sun Tour from Wednesday where Clarke returns as the defending champion.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Bexy DEW
31 years | today
33 years | today
47 years | today
24 years | today
Jeppe Aaskov PALLESEN
27 years | today