uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

The Portuguese race will include two stages for sprinters, two summit finishes and an individual time trial

Photo: Sirotti


14.12.2015 @ 19:45 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The 42nd Volta ao Algarve (February 17-21) will have a route for all kind of riders, but only a complete cyclist can win the final yellow jersey. Five stages, one of them an individual time trial, and a total of 756,6 km is the menu for a peloton of 24 teams.


The first stage covers 178.6 km between Lagos and Albufeira. One can expect a really fast final with the best sprinters fighting for the first win.


The queen stage is the second, a very long journey of 200km from Lagoa to Fóia, the highest point of Algarve (904m). The finish line is at the top of a first category climb (75 km with 6% of average gradient). In the last 67km the riders will find three third category climbs, Marmelete, Picota, Pomba, before the first category Fóia.


The time triallists will have their chance on the third stage, an individual exercise of 18km around Sagres. The first 4.5 km are technical but then the real experts can recover the time lost in the second stage. The wind is strong in some places and can be an extra opponent.


The fourth stage, 187.3km from São Brás de Alportel to Tavira, is the second chace for the sprinters. The first 100km of the stage have some up-and-down route, but the second part of the trip is quite flat.


The last day will be a very busy day for all the riders with the yellow jersey on their mind. The trip begins in Almodôvar and ends after 172.7km at the top of Malhão, a second category climb of 2,5km and an average gradient of 9.4%. At 45 km from the finish, the riders will pass at Malhão for the first time before they will tackle a hilly terrain that resembles the Spring Classics, with short but steep ascents. The final 2.5 km, ascending to the top of Malhão, are expected to be really exciting, with a big crowd – this is the day of Algarve Granfondo – and an incessant struggle for glory.



Stage 1: Lagos – Albufeira, 187,6 km

Stage 2: Lagoa – Fóia, 200 km

Stage 3: Sagres – Sagres, 18 km ITT

Stage 4: S. Brás de Alportel – Tavira, 187,3 km

Stage 5: Almodôvar – Malhão, 172,7 km


Teams already confirmed

WorldTour: Astana, Cannondale, Etixx-QuickStep, FDJ, IAM Cycling, Katusha, Lotto Soudal, Lotto NL-Jumbo, Movistar, Team Sky, Tinkoff, Trek Factory Racing.

Professional Continental: Bora-Argon 18, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Gazprom-RusVelo, Novo Nordisk, Roth-Skoda and Verva ActiveJet.

Continental: All the Portuguese Teams, probably six teams.


Last Winners

2015 - Geraint Thomas (GBR) - Team Sky

2014 - Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Omega Pharma-QuickStep

2013 - Tony Martin (GER) - Omega Pharma-QuickStep

2012 - Richie Porte (AUS) - Team Sky

2011 - Tony Martin (GER) - HTC-HighRoad

2010 - Alberto Contador (ESP) - Astana

2009 - Alberto Contador (ESP) - Astana

2008 - Stijn Devolder (BEL) - QuickStep-Innergetic

2007 - Alessandro Petacchi (ITA) - Milram


Last Stage winners


2015 - Gianni Meersman (Etixx-QuickStep)

2014 - Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida)

2013 - Paul Martens (Blanco)

2012 - Gianni Meersman (Lotto-Belisol)

2011 - Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto)



2002 - Alex Zülle (Team Coast)

2001 - José Azevedo (ONCE)

2000 - José Azevedo (Maia-MSS)

1999 - Andreas Klöden (Team Deutsche Telekom)

1998 - Grischa Niermann (Die Continentale-Olympia)



2015 - Tony Martin (Etixx-QuickStep)

2014 - Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)



2013 - Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)

2012 - Gerald Ciolek (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)

2011 - André Greipel (Omega Pharma-Lotto)

2010 - Sebastien Rosseler (RadioShack)

2009 - Alberto Contador (Astana)



2015 - Richie Porte (Sky)

2014 - Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo)

2013 - Sergio Henao (Sky)

2012 - Richie Porte (Sky)

2011 - Stephen Cummings (Sky)



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

35 years | today
38 years | today
39 years | today
24 years | today
30 years | today