uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

The race was haunted by bad weather – less than half of the starting riders finished the race through Flanders.

Photo: Sirotti






20.03.2013 @ 20:33 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Oscar Gatto (Vini Fantini-Selle Italia) took a spectacular win at Dwars Door Vlaanderen after his potent dash took him past late breakaway Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) in the last centimetres in Waregem.


The Frenchman broke clear from the decisive break of 10 riders with a shrewd assault after the last climb of the Nokereberg with seven kilometres to go, enjoying a lead of 16 seconds just before hitting the one kilometre mark.


However, Voeckler started to slump inside the final kilometre while Ian Stannard (Sky) and Stijn Vandenbergh (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) took almighty turns in the break to reduce his lead.


Voeckler still had a slender lead as he entered the finishing straight, but there was an air of grim predictability as the incandescent figure of Gatto opened his sprint and appeared from the shadow behind. The Italian brushed past Voeckler inside the final 50 metres, and won the race ahead of Borut Bozic (Astana) and Mathew Hayman (Sky), while Voeckler came home in 5th.


"I am happy" the winner said after the race on "I have repaid the faith of the organizers and of my team. It was a very tough race, but I felt I was in shape and having to try. It went well. I love the North and hope to do well in what is the race of my dreams: Flanders".


Later he explained his tactics inside the final km to Het Nieuwsblad, “Coming into the last kilometre, I thought Voeckler would make it to be frank,” Gatto said. “I took Stannard’s wheel because I had seen how strong he was at Milan-San Remo on Sunday. He went to the front inside the final kilometre which meant that I had to launch my sprint from a long way out."


The race was haunted by bad weather – less than half of the starting riders finished the race through Flanders.



1 Oscar Gatto - Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
2 Borut Bozic - Astana
3 Matthew Hayman - Sky
4 Mirko Selvaggi - Vacansoleil-DCM
5 Thomas Voeckler - Europcar
6 Nikolas Maes - Omega Pharma-Quick Step
7 Jens Keukeleire - Orica GreenEdge
8 Maxim Iglinskiy - Astana
9 Ian Stannard - Sky
10 Stijn Vandenbergh - Omega Pharma-Quick Step


Watch the final km of the race:





Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Laurent BIONDI
65 years | today
Charles CASSIN
33 years | today
Steven THYS
46 years | today
Christian Einung DAHL
43 years | today
43 years | today