uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Growing stronger and stronger in last three days, underdogs Christian Grasmann and Jesper Mørkøv will line-up at the decisive night in Bellerup Super Arena as overall leaders.



















03.02.2015 @ 09:58 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

Growing stronger and stronger in last three days, underdogs Christian Grasmann and Jesper Mørkøv will line-up at the decisive night in Bellerup Super Arena as overall leaders. Defending their advantage won't be enough to take a suprising victory in the Six Days of Copenhagen, though, as local heroes Rasmussen and Mørkøv, currently at one lap, are only seven points from taking another bonus.


The penultimate day always means an extremely tough racing in Copenhagen, as Monday's schedule includes 75-kilometers long handicap Madison planned for its finale. It was no different this time around, but nonetheless top contenders started the evening strongly, deciding the elimination race between themselves. In a two-man sprint, Jasper de Buyst once again beat Michael Mørkøv by smallest possible margin.


The German pair Lampater and Kalz unsurprisingly won their fifth time trial in this years edition of the event, while the long derny grand prix raised more controversies. In a 60-laps long competition, in which riders are changing midway, Rasmussen lost contact with his motorbike shortly after a change and pair no. 7 lost no less than five laps before Mørkøv stepped in and was ready to resume the race. Umpires decided, however, that the situation was caused by a bike defect rather than mistake made by the 30-year old Dane, what prevented local crowd favourites from such a huge loss. Even though Jesper Mørkøv was immediately elevated to a favourite role in the grand prix, this compatetion also was taken by powersul de Buyst, with pair no. 14 rider having to settle for a second spot.


Nonetheless, Grasmann and Mørkøv started the handicap Madison as Copenhagen Six overall leaders after gaining a bonus lap. The race was characterized by countless attacks from top contenders, but in the end didn't cause any major shakedown in the general classification. Sebastian Wotschke riding with Achim Burkart hung on to their huge advantage to take a deserved victory in that competition, while underdogs pair no. 14 defended their narrow lead.


Event's biggest favourites Rasmussen and Morkov finished the penultimate day one lap down, as well as Lampater and Kalz, but Danes are the only pair to gain another bonus on Tuesday.



The Six Days of Copenhagen classification after day five:
1. Christian Grassman – Jesper Morkov 209


at 1 lap

2. Alex Rasmussen – Michael Morkov 293

3. Leif Lampater – Marcel Kalz 234


at 2 laps

4. Jasper de Buyst – Marc Hester 326


at 5 laps

5. Andreas Muller – Andreas Graf 110


at 22 laps

6. Nick Stopler – Mathias Krigbaum 91


at 27 laps

7. Martin Blaha – Vojtech Hacecky 49

at 28 laps

8. Denis Rugovac – Martic Hacecky 100


at 29 laps

9. Jake Duehring – Daniel Holloway 87

10. Melvin van Zijl – Didier Caspers 53


at 35 laps

11. Sebastian Wotschke – Achim Burkart 77


at 36 laps

12. Simon Bigum – Elias Helleskov Busk 116


at 27 laps

13. Nikola Aistrup – Jonas Aaen 97


at 41 laps

14. Manuel Cazzaro – Filippo Fortin 113



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Gianni PUGI
27 years | today
35 years | today
42 years | today
Ivana Nikolaeva TONKOVA
21 years | today
Horacio Gallardo BURGOS
43 years | today