uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

De La Cruz was caught by the Froome group, but managed to stay with riders like Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) and Andrew Talansky (Cannondale-Garmin) in the final tough kilometers before finishing in the top 15 of the stage.

Photo: © Etixx - Quick-Step / Tim de Waele






13.06.2015 @ 22:23 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Etixx - Quick-Step rider David De La Cruz was part of an original large breakaway, and despite being unable to maintain contaxt in the later kilometers, he still finished 14th as the peloton was completely decimated by the high mountaisn of 155km Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 7 on Saturday.


Chris Froome (Team Sky) won solo as he and Tejay van Garderen rode away from their GC competitors on the summit finale of the queen stage, Category 1 Le Bettex (7km, 7.7%). Froome attacked van Garderen with 1.4km to go and crossed 17" ahead of van Garderen. Louis Meintjes (MTN - Qhubeka) finished 3rd, 41" down.


Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) went into the stage as race leader, but finished several minutes down on Froome and van Garderen, as well as other GC contenders. As a result, van Garderen takes back the race lead by 18" over Froome, and 45" over Benat Intxausti (Movistar).


De La Cruz was caught by the Froome group, but managed to stay with riders like Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) and Andrew Talansky (Cannondale-Garmin) in the final tough kilometers before finishing in the top 15 of the stage.


Pieter Serry was one of 14 riders who attacked just four kilometers into the stage. By kilometer 34 De La Cruz was part of a chase group, and 26 riders eventually joined at the ahead of the race. De La Cruz was the virtual leader at one point due to the gap. Riders dropped from the group with each passing kilometer. Eventually Daniel Navarro (Cofidis) and Riccardo Zoidl  (Trek Factory Racing) rode away from their break mates,but  it would be riders from the select group formed by Team Sky and Froome that would decide the stage.


Etixx - Quick-Step looks next to Stage 8, which closes Critérium du Dauphiné on a high mountain profile. There are six categorized climbs. Lacets de Montvernier (3.4km at 8.2%), which peaks at the 108km point of the race, is known for an abundance of hairpins. There is also the summit finale of Modane Valfréjus (8.4km, 5.7% average gradient).



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

29 years | today
33 years | today
Ole Martin HAGLAND
25 years | today
27 years | today
32 years | today