uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Marc Sarreau and I were hired to try to take over from Nacer Bouhanni who won a lot of races. The sprint is a bit of a philosophy of the team. We know that most of the WorldTour races are decided in sprints."

Photo: Sirotti






27.04.2015 @ 11:13 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Lorrenzo Manzin barely had any time to celebrate his first win in the pro ranks as he rushed to the train to head from Tours to Paris. After a competitive race in very difficult conditions, the young sprinter of the FDJ team raised his arms in La Roue Tourangelle, which is part of the Coupe de France race series.


"I am obviously very satisfied," he told Directvelo. "I had a difficult start to the season. I crashed in January at the Tour Down Under. This Roue Tourangelle was ideal to get me back on tract. This is obviously the first time I did this race but I knew the finale as I had done Paris-Tours for U23 riders. I can pass the climbs but you had to have legs. Today, I could smile. 


"Marc Sarreau and I were hired to try to take over from Nacer Bouhanni who won a lot of races. The sprint is a bit of a philosophy of the team. We know that most of the WorldTour races are decided in sprints. It's nice to win. They say I'm a neo-pro but time flies. And riders like Démare, Bouhanni and Coquard won very young. 


"Now I hope the team will continue its momentum. This is the third weekend in a row where we have taken a win. We had a difficult start to the season. We have not been spared from bad luck. I'm happy for the team and for me. I want to be successful in the WorldTour."


"It is a big thing for a team to see one of its youngsters winning his first race," said a delighted sports director Thierry Bricaud. "It is also a moment for him as he was clearly very happy at the podium ceremony."


Held in rainy conditions, the race was first dominated by a breakaway of four riders, including David Boucher who was accompanied Demoitié, Bouvry and D'Hollanders. They were caught 27 kilometers from the finish near the final climbs.


"On the Cote de l'Epan ten kilometers from the finish, they were 25 riders left," Bricaud said. "On the descent, Laporte (Cofidis) crashed and took Coquard (Europcar) with him. In the end, Francis Mourey, Kenny Elissonde and Arnaud Courteille worked well for Lorrenzo who won ahead of Venturini (Cofidis) and Dieteren (Leopard Development). This victory is one for the team."


In the classification of the Coupe de France, Lorrenzo Manzin enters the top 10 and is in third place in the youth standings.



Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59

Currently no news in this list

Alexandra OKHVAT
24 years | today
47 years | today
30 years | today
46 years | today
Danny Alberto OSORIO CALLE
30 years | today

© 2013