uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Matthews, though, had recuperated sufficiently from covering Van Avermaet, and opened a sprint that Van Avermaet couldn’t respond to.

Photo: Frank Rud Jensen






10.08.2013 @ 08:58 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

In one of the most commanding peformances of his career, Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge) won stage four of the Tour of Utah on Friday night in Salt Lake City.


Matthews followed an in-form Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) when the Belgian launched an attack on a false flat some 300 metres from the finish line, and subsequently unleashed a sprint that no one could rival.

Having outsprinted Van Avermaet in stage two already, Matthews thus claimed his second stage win in the Tour of Utah this year, making it a memorable first for Orica-GreenEdge in the American stage race.

Van Avermaet suffered a mechanical problem immediately after the flag had dropped, but was swiftly brought back to the safety of the bunch by a teammate.


In what seemed likely to form the early breakaway of the day Marsh Cooper (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) and Nelson Oliviera (Radioshack-Leopard) were joined by Lawson Craddock (Bontrager) and a Bissell rider but their escape attempt was short lived, as Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) led the train for overall leader Lachlan Morton.


Numerous attacks followed, but the escapes never managed to create major gaps as Garmin-Sharp and Orica-GreenEDGE joined forces to make sure that the lead never exceeded the 25 seconds mark.

As the peloton approached the finish line, Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies and BMC assembled their lead out trains, but rather than sit back and await another head-to-head sprint with Matthews, Van Avermaet caught everybody by surprise as he launched a ferocious attack in a blistering display of aggression. However, Matthews regained his senses quickly enough to go after the Belgian.

Alessandro Bazzana (United Healthcare) bridged the gap to the front duo in pursuit of the stage. Matthews, though, had recuperated sufficiently from covering Van Avermaet, and opened a sprint that Van Avermaet couldn’t respond to.


Lachlan Morton (Garmin-Sharp) maintained his overall lead, while Van Avermaet, who claimed his third successive runner-up spot, remains second, 26 seconds adrift.


Tour of Utah, stage four result:

1 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE  1:10:17         

2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team                                                      

3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Bontrager Cycling Team                                                    

4 Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) United Healthcare Pro Cycling                               

5 Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies                                                        

6 Kiel Reijnen (USA) United Healthcare Pro Cycling                                            

7 Gregory Obando Brenes (CRi) Champion System Pro Cycling                                                  

8 Janier Alexis Acevedo Calle (Col) Jamis-Hagens Berman                               

9 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin Sharp                                                          

10 Lachlan David Morton (Aus) Team Garmin Sharp


Tour of Utah general classification:

1 Lachlan David Morton (Aus) Team Garmin Sharp 14:59:24                          

2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:26”      

3 Lucas Euser (USA) United Healthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:40”                          

4 Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack-Leopard 0:00:43”          

5 Gregory Obando Brenes (CRi) Champion System Pro Cycling 0:00:44”   

6 Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack-Leopard                                               

7 Benjamin King (USA) RadioShack-Leopard                                                         

8 Benjamin Day (Aus) United Healthcare Pro Cycling                                         

9 Matthew Busche (USA) RadioShack-Leopard                                                    

10 Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin Sharp



Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59

Currently no news in this list

Qiang DENG
25 years | today
24 years | today
22 years | today
28 years | today
Doo Yong KIM
22 years | today

© 2013