uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Worlds U23 silver medalist beats Daryl Impey in the vote to succeed Natnael Berhane as the best rider on the continent

Photo: Sirotti








16.12.2013 @ 18:29 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Louis Meintjes has crowned a fabulous season by being named African cyclist of the year by a jury that was composed of among others Bernhard Hinault and Chris Froome. The MTN-Qhubeka rider takes the prize for  his silver medal at the U23 World Championships and beats Daryl Impey who became the first African to wear the yellow jersey, into second in the vote.


The U23 World Championships are often dominated by riders  from the European cycling nations, with the occasional Colombian, Australian and American popping up to claim a spot on the podium. However, it is very rare for a rider outside cycling's mainland to medal in the most prestigious race for the world's future stars.


Not many had expected the trend to be bucked at this year's race in Florence. 3 seconds after Matej Mohoric has crossed the line with his arms in the air to be crowned new world champion, South African Louis Meintjes was, however, the next rider to cross the line and so took a very well-deserved silver medal as he held off the main bunch in the closing kilometres.


That 2nd place has now been turned into a 1st place at the African Cyclist of the Year awards as the young South African has been named the continent's most successful rider in 2013. The MTN-Qhubeka rider who also finished in the top 10 in the Tropical Amissa Bongo and the Tours of Taiwan, Korea and Rwanda, got most point in a vote conducted by a jury that was comprised of cycling celebrities like Chris Froome and Bernhard Hinault.


Meintjes amassed 57 points in the vote which was just one more than Daryl Impey who was celebrated as the first African to wear the yellow jersey at the Tour de France. After winning the team time trial, Impey's teammate Simon Gerrans decided to deliberately give the jersey to his friend and teammate and Impey enjoyed the coveted tunic for two days before handling it to eventual winner Chris Froome. Impey also won stages in the Vuelta al Pais Vasco and the Bayern Rundfahrt, was 5th in the Eneco Tour, took his national time trial crown and won a silver medal with Orica-GreenEDGE at the world team time trial championships.


Last year's winner Natnael Berhane was a distant 3rd in the vote with 37 points. The Eritrean turned professional with Europcar at the beginning of the season and won the queen stage on the Elmali climb in the Tour of Turkey. Having originally been beaten into 2nd by Mustafa Sayar, he was given the overall win when it was announced that Sayar had tested positive for EPO earlier in the season.


Another Eritrean, Merhawi Kudus, who will turn professional with MTN-Qhubeka in 2014, was 4th in the vote.



1. Louis MEINTJES (South Africa, MTN-Qhubeka) 57
2. Daryl IMPEY (South Africa, Orica-GreenEdge) 56
3. Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea, Team Europcar) 37
4. Merhawi KUDUS (Eritrea) 30
5. Soufian HADDI (Morocco) 24
6. Tesfom OKUBMARIAM (Eritrea) 13
7. Abdelbaset HANNACHI (Algeria, GSP Algérie) 10
8. Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea, Orica-GreenEdge) 9
9. Adil BARBARI (Algeria, Vélo-Club Sovac) 7
10. Azzedine LAGAB (Algeria, Vélo-Club Sovac) 6



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

25 years | today
Yelyzaveta OSHURKOVA
33 years | today
Bianca LUST
28 years | today
24 years | today
Richard COMA
24 years | today