uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Seven pairs are on the same lap after the opening day of racing







03.01.2015 @ 01:04 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Danes Michael Mørkøv and Alex Rasmussen got the Six-Days of Rotterdam off to a perfect start as they took the lead on the opening day. However, the battle is very close as seven laps are on the same lap.


The opening days of the 33rd Six Days of Rotterdam indicated that a big battle is in store for the rest of the race in the Ahoy Halle. After the gruelling first evening, six pairs are on the same lap. Danes Michael Mørkøv and Alex Rasmussen have taken the lead with a points tally of 54 points. Iljo Keissen and Niki Terpstra are second with 49 points.


Reigning champions Keisse and Terpstra started in the way they ended last year's race: by winning. They began their title defence with a well-deserved victory in the team elimination.


Then it was time for the Danish Dynamite. Mørkøv and Rasmussen did an impressive flying lap. With an average speed of nearly 70kph and a time of 10:383, they were close to the track record but missed it by less than one-tenth of a second. However, they still scored the maximal number of points.


Mørkøv and Rasmussen also turned out to the strongest in the madison. The peloton had an exciting battle on the track and after 35 minutes and the final ten laps, seven pairs were still on the same lap. The Danish pair managed to take the win in the final sprint.


The evening ended with two exciting points races. The pairs were split and rode individually. Jasper de Buyst and Jesper Asselman gathered the most points and gained important points for the overall standings.

Between all the action on the track, the new Roompot team was presented. The riders from Michael Zijlaard's team then headed onto the track for an elmination. The packed Ahoy Halle saw Andre Looij take his first ever win in Roompot colours. Looij who is riding with Ivar Slik in the real Six-Day, took the win by overcoming a typical Johnny Hoogerland attack.


The second Roompot victory was taken by Michel Kreder. The Dutchman and Keisse won the derny race and so they share the lead in the Houcon Derny Cup with their partners Raymond Kreder and Terpstra.


Finally, the Dutch sprinters took the the lead in the GPN / Provato Sprint Cup. Hugo Haak, Jeffrey Highland and Camiel Lok gathered a lot more points than their Greek opponents: 16 versus 11.




1.  Michael Mørkøv/Alex Rasmussen 54 pts
2.  Iljo Keisse/Niki Terpstra 48 pts
3.  Jasper De Buyst/Kenny De Ketele 46 pts
4.  David Muntaner/Albert Torres 26 pts
5.  Wim Stroetinga/Yoeri Havik 20 pts
6.  Michel Kreder/Raymond Kreder 12 pts
7.  Leif Lampater/Nico Hesslich 11 pts
8.  Thomas Boudat/Vivien Brisse 18 pts +1 lap
9.  Andreas Müller/Andreas Graf 0 pts +1 lap
10. André Looij/Ivar Slik 0 pts +1 lap




Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
Francisco Jose CASAUS
29 years | today
31 years | today
48 years | today
31 years | today