uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

According to Biciciclismo, Ciolek has signed a contract with Cult-Stölting where he will rejoin former teammates Wegmann and Gerdemann

Photo: Sirotti




30.10.2015 @ 11:13 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Gerald Ciolek (1986, MTN-Qhubeka) is one of the big names without a contract for next season. According to Spanish website Biciclismo, the German who won Milan-San Remo in 2013, should join the Cult Energy-Stölting Professional Continental team in 2016. Reportedly, the agreement has almost been reached and so he will join other German riders like Fabian Wegmann and Linus Gerdemann.


The MTN-Qhubeka decided not to renew Ciolek's contract and so he ends a three-year stint with the South African team. He touched the sky in 2013 when he beat Sagan to win Milan-San Remo. However, 2015 was a poor year, with a second place in Tirreno-Adriatico the only result to stand out and non-selections for the Tour de France and the Vuelta a Espana. In fact, he has not won since last year's Vuelta a Andalucia 20 months ago.


Ciolek excelled at a young age, winning the German Championships in 2005 when he was not even 20 years (later he was runner-up in 2011 and 2013) and U23 World Champion in 2006.


His palamres include a stage victory in the 2009 Vuelta and stages in Austria, Bayern-Rundfhart, Germany. He has three second places from stages at the Tour de France. However, nothing compares to his exceptional victory in the Classicissima when he created a surprise by beating Sagan in San Remo. Now he will try to offer his best to Cult Energy-Stölting  Group, a team that merges two structures, the Danish Professional Continental Cult and the German continental Stölting team.


Ciolek has previously ridden for Akud Arnolds Sicherheit (2005), Team Wiesenhof (2006), T-Mobile (2007), Team Columbia (2008), Milram (2009-2010), QuickStep/Omega Pharma-QuickStep (2011-2012 ) and MTN-Qhubka (2013-2015).


The 16 riders confirmed so far for Cult Energy-Stölting are: Michael Carbel, Linus Gerdemann, Rasmus Guldhammer, Alex Kirsch, Romain Lemarchand, Christian Mager, Mads Pedersen, Rasmus Quaade, Michael Reihs and Fabian Wegmann, who rode for Cult Energy in 2015; Thomas Koep, Sven Reutter, Lennard Kamna and Jonas Tenbrock (Stölting); Alexander Kamp (ColoCick) and Lasse Norman Hansen (Cannondale-Garmin).



Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59

Currently no news in this list

Qiang DENG
25 years | today
24 years | today
22 years | today
28 years | today
Doo Yong KIM
22 years | today

© 2013