uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

While race leader Greipel is held up in a crash, Sinkeldam beats Bos in the bunch sprint on the second stage of the World Ports Classic; in the GC it is the other way around as Bos takes the victory by virtue of better stage placings

Photo: A.S.O.












25.05.2014 @ 19:13 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Ramon Sinkeldam (Giant-Shimano) showed that Giant-Shimano have lots of promising sprinters in the making when he won today's final stage of the World Ports Classic in a crash-marred bunch sprint. Race leader André Greipel (Lotto Belisol) was held up in the finale and as Theo Bos (Belkin) finished 2nd behind Sinkeldam he took the overall win ahead of the Dutchman by virtue of better stage placings.


Like on the previous day, stage 2 of the World Ports Classic finished with an impressive bunched sprint in the streets of Rotterdam. After André Greipel yesterday, young Dutchman Ramon Sinkeldam flew to victory, beating Theo Bos and Greg Henderson to the line. Thanks to better finishing positions on both stages, Theo Bos, in the same time as Sinkeldam, wins the 2014 edition of the race. After two Belgians, Boonen and Maes, a Dutchman triumphs on the World Ports Classic.
Precious seconds for Bos
After Rotterdam yesterday, the city of Antwerp welcomed the riders of the World Ports Classic for the start of stage two. A town that will also host the start of stage three of the 2015 Tour de France. 133 riders took off just after noon for a 160.5-km ride all the way to Rotterdam with the GC leader’s Blue Jersey on the shoulders of stage 1 winner André Greipel. The pace was fast straight from kilometre 0 as the sprinters’ teams took command of the pack with the intention to capture precious bonus seconds at the first intermediate sprint (km 15.5). And indeed the strong men battled it out just outside Antwerp, Theo Bos (BEL) winning the sprint ahead of Porsev (KAT) and Pelucchi (IAM).
Five in the lead
Eventually after 39 kilometres, five men managed to break away: Poulhies (COF), Kreder (WGG), Premont (WBC), Thomson (MTN) and Pfingsten (RIJ). Their lead grew to reach 2’25 at Km 50 but never more as teams Lotto-Belisol, Katusha and Belkin started chasing early. 
Thomson on his own
Despite the cobbled sectors on the course, the gap stabilized at around 2’ for the leading men. The situation started changing just before the second bonus sprint. Indeed Premont was the first to attack, making it first to the line ahead of Pfingsten and Kreder while the pack remained 1’20 adrift. As the front five bunched up together again, it was Thomson’s turn to take off. His move at km 118 proved to be decisive. The South African indeed continued on his own with a 20” lead over Pfingsten and 1’50 over the pack that had gobbled up the other former escapees. With 25kms to go, Thomson could enjoy a promising 1’25 advantage over the chasing pack that had caught Pfingsten.
Sinkeldam at last
But the big teams pushed harder at the front of the main field and Thomson’s lead dropped down from 1’20 with 20kms to go to only 12” as he took on the last 10 kilometres. The last escapee was finally caught after 152kms. As teams Lotto-Belisol and Belkin moved to the front, the pack remained bunched all the way to the finish. Time had come for a royal sprint in the streets of Rotterdam. While a crash occurred in the pack forcing Blue Jersey André Greipel to stop his effort, Ramon Sinkeldam (GIA) proved to be the fastest of the lot, outsprinting Theo Bos (BEL) and Greg Henderson (LTB) to the line. On the podium of all three stages of the Tour de Picardie just a week ago, the young Dutchman conquers his first major success.
Bos thanks to better positions
But the winner of Paris-Roubaix Espoirs back in 2011 had to settle for second spot of the final GC despite being in the same time as the winner. Indeed third yesterday and second today, Theo Bos claims this 3rd edition of the World Ports Classic thanks to his stage positions. After winning stage 1 of the event in 2012, already in Rotterdam, the 30-year-old Dutchman conquers his first GC success and adds a 38th line to his winning list. He also captures the points classification while Sinkeldam finishes best young rider.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Tomas Agustin SUAREZ
25 years | today
37 years | today
46 years | today
49 years | today
31 years | today