uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Blanco rider takes replaces teammate at the top of GC.

Photo: Cor Vos






15.02.2013 @ 17:11 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Theo Bos (Team Blanco) sprinted to victory on the 195 km second stage of the Volta ao Algarve to Lagoa.


The Blanco sprinter defeated Giacomo Nizzolo (RadioShack Leopard) and Bruno Matos Sancho (Carmim-Tavira) in a tight decision and moved into the race lead after teammate Paul Martens was unable to stay with the lead group when the stage was decided.

Following an avalanche of attacks early on, 10 riders were eventually unleashed by the peloton with Dmitry Kozontchuk (Katusha), Sep Vanmarcke (Blanco), Ricardo Garcia (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Manuele Boaro (Team Saxo-Tinkoff), Bertjan Lindeman (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team), Omar Fraile (Caja Rural), Dalivier Ospina (Colombia), Tomas Metcalfe (Carmim-Tavira), Hugo Sabido (La Aluminios-Antarte) and Alejandro Marque Porto (OFM-Quinta Da Lixa) all breaking clear.

The group quickly established a lead of 2:40 by the 42-kilometre mark. After 75 kilometres the bunch had allowed the gap to reach five minutes as Boaro picked up the first mountain points of the day on the 3rd category climb.

Omega Pharma-Quick Step then moved to the front soon after, when the lead had exceeded the 8 minutes mark, and started to reduce to leaders' advantage. With Vanmarcke up the road, Blanco were in an ideal position. But with 40 kilometres to go the break had just 3 minutes to play with.

Kozontchuk, Vanmarcke, Garcia, Boaron, Marque and Lindeman dropped the rest of their companions but with 10 to go the gap was down to just 30 seconds and a bunch sprint seemed inevitable.

Still, Vanmacke attacked yet again thereby dragging Marque and Boaro with him but the trio was finally reeled in inside the final 4 kilometres setting the stage for the sprint finish.


Stage 2
1 Theo Bos - Blanco 4.50.15
2 Giacomo Nizzolo - RadioShack-Lepard
3 Bruno Sancho - Carmim-Tavira
4 Jesús Herrada - Caja Rural
5 Kris Boeckmans - Vacansoleil-DCM
6 Thomas Leezer - Blanco
7 Alessandro Bzzana - UnitedHealthcare
8 Pieter Vanspeynrouck - Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
9 Edwin Avila - Colombia
10 Michael Mørkøv - Saxo-Tinkoff

General Classification
1 Theo Bos - Blanco 9.57.30
2 Paul Martens - Blanco 0.04
3 Giacomo Nizzolo - RadioShack-Leopard 0.08
4 Tiago Machado - RadioShack-Leopard
5 Hugo Sabido - LA Alumínios-Antarte 0.09
6 Eduard Vorganov - Katusha
7 Bruno Sancho - Carmim-Tavira 0.10
8 Amets Txurruka - Caja Rural 0.11
9 Sérgio Paulinho - Saxo-Tinkoff 0.12
10 Bertjan Lindeman - Vacansoleil-DCM





Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Gianni PUGI
27 years | today
35 years | today
42 years | today
Ivana Nikolaeva TONKOVA
21 years | today
Horacio Gallardo BURGOS
43 years | today