uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Without a doubt, the Monuments have historically been dominated by Belgian riders.

Photo: Sirotti


16.04.2015 @ 19:56 Posted by Steve Greer

For much of the world, the winter of 2014 - 2015 was a harsh one with bitterly cold temperatures and record setting snowfall which kept many cyclists dreaming of warm weather while peddling away on our indoor trainers. But now with the warming spring weather, cycling is waking up from its winter slumber and the cycling Spring Classics are in full swing. Talk to most any cycling enthusiast and before long the conversation will likely turn up names like Milan - San Remo, Gent - Wevelgem, Paris - Roubaix, and Liege - Bastogne - Liege. In this, the first installment of the "This Month in Cycling History" series, I will focus on the "Monuments" races.


The "Monuments" of cycling consists of five races which are generally considered to be the oldest and most prestigious of the one-day events. The races are Milan - San Remo, Tour of Flanders, Paris - Roubaix, Liege - Bastogne - Liege, and Giro di Lombardia.


Milan - San Remo, held in late March, was first run in 1907. At 298 kilometers, it is the longest of the one-day events. With its many long, flat roads, it is considered a sprinter's classic.


The Tour of Flanders, or Ronde van Vlaanderen, was first held in 1913. This roughly 250 kilometer race is known for its narrow cobbled roads which leave riders fighting for space in the peloton.


Paris - Roubaix, first held in 1896, is known as both "The Queen of the Classics", and, more notoriously, "The Hell of the North." The latter nickname was earned due to its many kilometers of bone-jarring, frame-rattling cobbled roads.


Liege - Bastogne - Liege is the oldest of the Monuments, having first been run as an amateur event in 1892, and as a professional event two years later in 1894. This race is notable for its many short but steep climbs.


The final Monument race is the Giro di Lombardia, known as the "Race of the Falling Leaves" as it has historically taken place in October, when the leaves being to turn colors and the air begins to get cooler. This race is a great combination of climbs and has a flat, fast finish.


Without a doubt, the Monuments have historically been dominated by Belgian riders. Belgians have the most wins by nationality at 214 total, followed by the Italians with 150. Only three riders have won all five Monuments races during their careers: Roger De Vlaeminck, Rik Van Looy, and Eddy Merckx, all three Belgian. Of these three, only Eddy Merckx has won them more than once. In fact, not only does Eddy Merckx hold the individual record for the most Monument wins total at 19, but he also has managed to win three Monuments in a single year four times:

1969: Milan - San Remo, Tour of Flanders, and Liege - Bastogne - Liege.

1971: Milan - San Remo, Liege - Bastogne - Liege, Giro di Lombardia.

1972: Milan - San Remo, Liege - Bastogne - Liege, Giro di Lombardia.

1975: Milan - San Remo, Tour of Flanders, and Liege - Bastogne - Liege.


Finally, with the 2015 Paris – Roubaix still fresh in our minds, it stands to be noted that the two riders with the most wins, Roger De Vlaeminck and Tom Boonen, tied at 4 wins each, are both Belgian.


That's all for this month. Be sure to make your number 1 source for information and updates for all of the Spring Classics and beyond.




The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

23 years | today
41 years | today
Volodymyr FREDYUK
30 years | today
60 years | today
47 years | today