uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Two mountaintop finishes and a team time trial will determine the 2016 Tour de San Luis

Photo: Etixx - Quick-Step/Tim De Waele


02.11.2015 @ 13:59 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The 10th edition of the Tour de San Luis was presented a few days. The most important race in South America will have some interesting changes, such as a team time trial and the removal of a mountaintop finish.


Unlike the 2015 Tour which visited Cordoba, the race will be held entirely on San Luis territory for a total of 921.7 kilometers, with a team time tril, two mountain stages with a mountaintop finishes, three days for the sprinters and a medium stage that could be suited to late attacks.


The route keeps some key points like the traditional sprints in Villa Mercedes and San Luis and the summit finishes that have been visited in recent years, particularly the Cerro El Amago. Unlike previous years, the ITT is removed and has been replaced by a 21km team time trial which will be a difficult test for many teams at this early point of the season.


The omission of the summit finish in Potrero de los Funes means that the climbers have to make the difference in the two remaning uphill finishes.


Cerro El Amago is 10.5 kilometers long and averages 7.2%, with particularly tough sections along the way. For example, between km 8 and 7, the gradient is 10.8% while it is 11.5% in the fifth last kilometre and 10% for the next 1000m. The final 1000m average 10.7%.


The second uphill finish includes the climb of Sierra de Comechingones which is 16 kilometers long and averages 7.8%, but the 2000 meters stretch from kilometer 11 and 9 averages 15%. Once past the Mirador del Sol, there is an extra 7 kilometers leading to Filo and the summit finish at 2140m of altitude which were tackled for the first time in 2015.


Another important innovation is stage 3 which goes from Potrero to La Punta. There will be no summit finish but the Mirador del Potrero de los Funes (4.8 kilometers to 6.7%) will be climb. The climb is located 12 kilometers from the finish, meaning that the stage should be selective.



The cycling world will have its words on San Luis between January 17 and 24 when a number of stars gather for the Argentinean race. The organizers plan to announce several stars in the near future.


Stage 1:El Durazno-El Durazno TTT (21km)
Stage 2:San Luis-Villa Mercedes (181.9km)
Stage 3:Potrero de Los Funes-La Punta (Cabildo) (131km)
Stage 4:Terrazas del Portezuelo-Cerro El Amago (140km)
Stage 5:Renca-Juana Koslay (168.7km)
Stage 6:La Toma-Filo de la Sierra de Comechingones (159.5km)
Stage 7:San Luis-San Luis (119.6km)










Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Justin Stuart MORRIS
38 years | today
33 years | today
54 years | today
28 years | today
51 years | today