uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Our goal is to be the best team next year, and this means every rider must be mentally prepared and come with the intent to win. We cannot be content with top 10 or 20. There will be no excuses."

Photo: Sirotti


10.12.2016 @ 11:08 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The annual December training camp for Trek-Segafredo is underway in Spain as the entire team has congregated for the first time to build towards a successful 2017.  With 11 new riders on the roster, the preseason camp is an opportunity for team bonding as well as the usual, often tedious tasks, of bike fitting, interviews, photo and video shoots, and meetings.


Obviously, there is plenty of time set aside for pedaling the shiny new Treks, along with core stability, strength exercises, and stretching, but fitting it all in makes for long days.


Trek-Segafredo General Manager Luca Guercilena explained that the camp is the best start to building good personal relations amongst the team, a big challenge with all the new faces. It is also a time to set the direction – or goals – for the new season, and the bar has been set high.


"As I said before, we want to be more competitive everywhere, so we have to be ready right from January," said Guercilena. "Our goal is to be the best team next year, and this means every rider must be mentally prepared and come with the intent to win. We cannot be content with top 10 or 20. There will be no excuses.


"We believe we have made the best effort possible - we don’t have just one leader for each race, now we will have more possibilities to be present as a strong team, to be present with different leaders. Even though it is difficult to make a forecast, the aim is to be substantially more successful next year. I'm convinced we will!"


The team have signed several new riders, including new leaders Alberto Contador and John Degenkolb.


Trek-Segafredo 2017 Roster

Continuing Riders

Eugenio Alafaci (ITA), Fumiyuki Beppu (JPN), Julien Bernard (FRA), Marco Coledan (ITA), Laurent Didier (LUX), Fabio Felline (ITA), Markel Irizar (ESP), Bauke Mollema (NED), Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA), Grégory Rast (SUI), Kiel Reijnen (USA), Peter Stetina (USA), Jasper Stuyven (BEL), Edward Theuns (BEL), Boy Van Poppel (NED), Haimar Zubeldia (ESP).

New Riders

Matthias Brändle (AUT), André Cardoso (POR), Alberto Contador (ESP), Koen de Kort (NED), Greg Daniel (USA), John Degenkolb (GER), Michael Gogl (AUT), Ruben Guerreiro (POR), Jesús Hernández (ESP), Jarlinson Pantano (COL), Mads Pedersen (DEN).



Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:55

Currently no news in this list

Jacobien KANIS
29 years | today
Angel Leonardo PEREYRA
22 years | today
31 years | today
31 years | today
63 years | today

© 2013